Thread: Altec Lansing 602d Duplex question

Altec Lansing 602d Duplex question

Thanks for letting me join the forum. I'm relatively new to vintage audio...most of my gear is 70s-80s era. I recently picked up a pair of altec speakers, and was wondering if anyone might have some info on them. They are 602d duplex speakers...mounted in old boxes. I was wondering what the intended application was for those speakers was. originally...were they designed for pa use? or home audio? Are they something that may be used in a home audio application? I'm currently using Klipsch Hereseys and Realistic Mach Ones. I haven't powered them up yet...until I found a little more info on them. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for any info.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

Quote Originally Posted by jcephusg View Post
    Thanks for letting me join the forum. I'm relatively new to vintage audio...most of my gear is 70s-80s era. I recently picked up a pair of altec speakers, and was wondering if anyone might have some info on them. They are 602d duplex speakers...mounted in old boxes. I was wondering what the intended application was for those speakers was. originally...were they designed for pa use? or home audio? Are they something that may be used in a home audio application? I'm currently using Klipsch Hereseys and Realistic Mach Ones. I haven't powered them up yet...until I found a little more info on them. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for any info.
    Welcome to the forum -

The 602 model was definitely designed for domestic use. The woofer is basically the model 803. The tweeter used a mylar microphone diaphragm, which is very delicate. The speaker would never have survived being used for sound reinforcement. If both tweeters are working consider yourself lucky. As there is no diaphragm available for them, they cannot be repaired. To attempt a repair would result in destroying the cone.