Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 43 of 43

Thread: Crown CTs Fan Mod

  1. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    731
    CTS-600 and CTS-1200 are class AB.
    The others are class D. That is probably why they have different specs, and probably different sound.

  2. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by bubbleboy76 View Post
    CTS-600 and CTS-1200 are class AB.
    The others are class D. That is probably why they have different specs, and probably different sound.
    I actually think the 4200 and 8200 are AB as well. I think it's the 2-channel CTS 2000 and above which are AB.

  3. #33
    Senior Member baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Haugesund, Norway
    Posts
    759
    Quote Originally Posted by oivavoi View Post
    I'm considering to buy a Crown CTS 8200. They can be found on the cheap on ebay these days. Has anybody tried modding the fans on those? It seems to me to be a bit more complex than on the other models, since it's four fans (one 80 mm and three 60 mm, according to folks here).
    If you don't know it, CTS amp are either 110 or 220V and most CTS on ebay are 110V only.

  4. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by baldrick View Post
    If you don't know it, CTS amp are either 110 or 220V and most CTS on ebay are 110V only.
    Thanks! Yap, I discovered that as well.

  5. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    poland
    Posts
    6
    Works just fine. Both connectors are the same.

  6. #36
    Member sebackman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    464
    The power supply are not the same on the 120v and 220v units. And they are not easy to modify.
    Kind tegards
    //Rob
    The solution to the problem changes the problem.
    -And always remember that all of your equipment was made by the lowest bidder

  7. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    731
    Quote Originally Posted by sebackman View Post
    Dear all,

    As per above the fans in the CTS600 and CTS1200 (probably also CTS2000 and CTS3000) are 24v fans, not 12v as in the newer CTS4200a (one 12v 80mm fan).

    The older 4200 (not "a") runs two 12v 60mm fans. CTS8200 runs 3pcs 12v 60mm fans and a single 12v 80mm fan.

    However in CTS600 and above there are two fans in each amp and the fan controller runs both fans in electrical parallel, ie not for each channel. Hence two 12v Noctua (or other) fans can be connected in series to accept 24v from either of the two fan connectors. The fan connectors are electrically the same but located in different places on the mainboard.


    The original fans in my CTS 600 and CTS 1200 are Mechatronics F8025X 24V and runs at 4800rpm @ 39 db noise with 53CFM / 90m3h @ 260mA each.

    The Noctua NF-R8 Redux 1800 12V runs at 1800rpm @ 17db noise with 54m3h @ 110mA each.

    I understand that 180m3h is more than the 108m2h Iím getting from the Noctua fans, but the CTS-series are manufactured for installations in potentially high ambient temperatures.

    I do think given that my amps very seldom gets warm, even after being run hard (powering subs), I do think 108m3H would be enough for cooling full load unless the ambient temperature is very high.

    So Iím now mounting two 12v Noctua fans in series in my CTS600 andCTS1200's. :-)

    Kind regards
    //RoB
    RoB, do you have a picture of this? How the cabling is done? Would be nice to see, I just ordered 8pc of Noctua NF-R8 Redux 1800 for my amps.

  8. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    731
    I have now done this fan-mod to one of my CTs-1200. Great success.
    Thanks for the info previous in this thread sebackman.

  9. #39
    Senior Member baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Haugesund, Norway
    Posts
    759
    Have ordred an Crown DCI that probably also need new fans, org is 24v 60x60mm... I've read that some have used 12v Noctua and "transformers" to make them work With 24v, is this the best way or are there any quiet 24v 60x60 that could work instead?

  10. #40
    Member sebackman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    464
    From the Pictures it looks like a single 60x60mm fan in the DCI's

    Most other 2HE Crown's are dual 80x80mm fans. Are you sure they are 24V?

    If dual fans you can just connect them in series = 24V. Job done.

    If not dual fans, check for Pabst fans, they probably have silent 24V 60x60mm. Expensive but good. Check for clearence as the silent fans often are deeper.

    I would avoid using resistors and/or reducers because if they fail the fun stops quickly.

    Kind regards
    //R
    The solution to the problem changes the problem.
    -And always remember that all of your equipment was made by the lowest bidder

  11. #41
    Member sebackman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    464
    Hi bubbleboy76,

    Glad it worked out satisfactory. It's a big difference and I have not had any problem with mine. Even the CTS 8200 can be silenced by using 3x60mm and one 80mm fan.

    Kind regards
    //Rob
    The solution to the problem changes the problem.
    -And always remember that all of your equipment was made by the lowest bidder

  12. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    731
    Now all 4 of my Crown CTs-1200 are silent. Very nice.

  13. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    214
    Quote Originally Posted by bubbleboy76 View Post
    Now all 4 of my Crown CTs-1200 are silent. Very nice.
    Congrats - they are great amps. I'm using three in my home theater.

    Quote Originally Posted by bubbleboy76 View Post
    CTS-600 and CTS-1200 are class AB.
    The others are class D. That is probably why they have different specs, and probably different sound.
    CTs2000 and CTs3000 are Class-I and not Class-D. Same technology as in the iTechs/MacroTechs though the CTs are older iterations.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Crown Vs. Crown..The China Syndrome !
    By jeenie67 in forum Professional Amps
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 12-17-2016, 08:57 AM
  2. Crown PS - 400
    By robertbartsch in forum Consumer Amps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-12-2013, 07:02 PM
  3. Crown XTI1000 bridged or Crown XLS602D stereo
    By jonfu@ymail.com in forum Professional Amps
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-02-2009, 09:45 AM
  4. Crown K1 or K2?
    By Doc Mark in forum Professional Amps
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 01-22-2009, 08:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •