Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Finally, someone cares about quality

Finally, someone cares about quality

http://www.cnbc.com/2015/07/15/neil-...ing-music.html

I assume Pono is excellent. But expensive.
    had L25,L36,L40,L120,L300,AquariusIV(2),S1,4408 have L65,L100,L222,DorianS12,B380

I've been using Deezer for a few months now; streaming flac into my living room. I'm quite happy with the quality.
    DIY Array, 2242 sub, 4408, 4208, Control 8SR, E120 Guitar cab, Control 1, LSR305.

He blamed the poor sound quality of the medium.

"I don't need my music to be devalued by the worst quality in the history of broadcasting or any other form of distribution," Young wrote in the post. "I don't feel right allowing this to be sold to my fans."
    Then why did he accept to see his recording edited on those pesky cassette tapes back when?...

Fact is a properly encoded mp3 (at the very least 128kbps for stereo, and more importantly a decent codec such as the original fraunhofer) *is* better than FM broadcasting on almost every aspect, and *much* *much* better than cassette tapes.

In practice a well encoded mp3 is indistinguishable from the original, and that is exactly what it was meant to be.

Although his decision is "not because of the money," he notes that bad deals made without his consent had cut into his income.
    That is more like it...

Just for the curiosity, here's how much music is missing when converting to MP3. And that's only one aspect of the conversion ;-)

http://www.factmag.com/2015/02/19/li...oms-diner-mp3/

Actually that is the only one.
    I did similar experiments around 1999 by simply subtracting a mp3 and its original wav.

The trick is that these artifact should not be audible thanks to the masking effect, and it works pretty well indeed.
    Of course the lower the bitrate the more audible the artifacts. Different codecs will also have different artifacts.

From the pitch man for "PONO" no less