Thread: Reconed Altec 418b?

Reconed Altec 418b?

HI
    I recently picked up an Altec 418b for $20. It's obviously been reconed, or at the very least had a new surround and a paper dust cover installed. It seems to me that somebody was trying to make it into a woofer as the seller said it was in a bass bin used by a church
    I was going to use it for guitar and tried it out and it seemed to sound quite nice. maybe not as bright as my D130 but still pleasing and quite full(I've never tried one before)
    The number on the back of the cone is hard to make out but seems to be 1883035402-01
    The 2nd 8 could be a 0 or an 8)
    The serial number is 391834 and it's labelled as a 8 ohm 418B DIA-CONE
    As you can see the dust cover is a little askew/not quite round and there's some sloppy glue work on the back where the cone is attached to the surround

I wonder if it's worth the bother to re-cone it with a new kit and are there any recommendations?Name:  Altec bask 2.jpg
Views: 2399
Size:  48.4 KBName:  altec bask.jpg
Views: 2788
Size:  49.2 KBName:  altec cone.jpg
Views: 2597
Size:  71.2 KB

Quote Originally Posted by Toxophilite View Post
    HI
    I recently picked up an Altec 418b for $20. It's obviously been reconed, or at the very least had a new surround and a paper dust cover installed. It seems to me that somebody was trying to make it into a woofer as the seller said it was in a bass bin used by a church
    I was going to use it for guitar and tried it out and it seemed to sound quite nice. maybe not as bright as my D130 but still pleasing and quite full(I've never tried one before)
    The number on the back of the cone is hard to make out but seems to be 1883035402-01
    The 2nd 8 could be a 0 or an 8)
    The serial number is 391834 and it's labelled as a 8 ohm 418B DIA-CONE
    As you can see the dust cover is a little askew/not quite round and there's some sloppy glue work on the back where the cone is attached to the surround