Thread: 4425 Horn Removal

4425 Horn Removal

Hello LHF! First post. I recently acquired a pair of 4425's and I need to remove the butt check horns so I can refinish them with some satin-black spray paint. I removed the six Allen screws from the front of the horns and attempted to lift them out. No luck. They won't budge. Is there a trick to removing them?

(BTW, these 4425's are new to me however I'm not new to JBL. I bought a pair of 4311BWX in high schools back in the late 70's, still have them. And being a musician I've owned a lot of Pro JBL gear over the years.)

Thanks for your help! David

It's probably just stuck to the gasket/tape. Maybe try heating it up a little with a blow dryer to make the adhesion pliable.

For the record, I'm not certain as I've only taken apart my 4430s with similar horn before. Did you take the woofer out and take a look in there? On my 4430s the compression driver is bolted in for support so that had to be removed to.

Good luck,

Warren
    DIY Array, 2242 sub, 4408, 4208, Control 8SR, E120 Guitar cab, Control 1, LSR305.

Thank you Ed Z. I tried applying heat around the edges of the horns but they still wouldn't budge. I was thinking of trying fishing line to break the seal, but after giving it some thought, I decided to leave the horns where they are and just touch up the few small scratches on the horns with a Sharpie. And yes, I pulled the woofers and it doesn't appear there are any bolts holding the horns from the inside.