Thread: What about ferrofluid ?

What about ferrofluid ?

Hello
    I would like to know the advance of ferrofluid in hifi use for JBL 2" drivers. Have you heard a difference ? I've got a pair of 2450.

Thanx

Quote Originally Posted by andychris View Post
    Hello
    I would like to know the advance of ferrofluid in hifi use for JBL 2" drivers. Have you heard a difference ? I've got a pair of 2450.

Thanx
    I think that Meyer Sound did use ferrofluid in their version of the 2450:
    http://www.audioheritage.org/vbullet...d-ms-2001-a%29

Have you managed to clean your 2450's? I'd give them a check to see if they are still up to spec before doing any mods.

Hello

Thanx
    Hi andychris,

I have no experience with JBL Be Diaphragm ( used in 476 driver), neither Mg,
    unfortunately, only with JBL-AL, JBL-Ti, JBL-Ti/ribbed, JBL-Ti-SL, Radian-AL and Truexten-Be.

Any of the mentioned are quite OK up to 10kHz, but over 10kHz their behavior become "unstable"
    I would not expect that ferrous-fluid would reduce the diaphragm"unstable" oscillations over 10kHz.

JBL SL (coated) Ti or Be diaphragms have shown less resonance tendency then "clean" Ti.
    My experience with JBL-AL diaphragm is that it can "go" till to 20kHz with "acceptable" FR deviations if You do not plan to use UHF driver.
    I believe that JBL-Be (SL) diaphragm ( used in 476 driver) would behave very good too.
    Applicable horn would make an influence too.
    Either of the mentioned including Radian and Truextent can be used up to (say) 8~10kHz, so UHF driver has to be applied.

Regards
    Ivica

I use a 2452 with Truextent Be on a H9800 horn and have good results out to 15khz and find I don't miss UHF driver.
    Quote Originally Posted by ivica View Post
    Hi andychris,

I have no experience with JBL Be Diaphragm ( used in 476 driver), neither Mg,
    unfortunately, only with JBL-AL, JBL-Ti, JBL-Ti/ribbed, JBL-Ti-SL, Radian-AL and Truexten-Be.