Thread: Walden cones

Walden cones

I recently received 2 JBL D130F frames with what appear to be Walden cones for 2205B . The white stamp on the cone says W 5518 and under that 080 . Do any of you folk have any insight into this ?

Quote Originally Posted by audiorep2 View Post
    I recently received 2 JBL D130F frames with what appear to be Walden cones for 2205B . The white stamp on the cone says W 5518 and under that 080 . Do any of you folk have any insight into this ?
    If I recall correctly, the company is Waldom, not Walden.

Sorry, I have no experience with their products.
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

I took a different path so I can't help you.

Quote Originally Posted by BMWCCA View Post
    If I recall correctly, the company is Waldom, not Walden.

Sorry, I have no experience with their products.
    You are quite right .... Waldom

Waldom produced aftermarket everything for all speakers. Many music stores that couldn't afford to send a guy to get JBL training so they could be an authorized JBL reconer could get everything to rebuild a JBL with CHEAP INFERIOR PARTS. Poor quality cones, crappy surrounds, above all cheap, round wire voice coils. They don't sound or react like an original JBL part. Sorry....

Greetings -

My beef with Waldom, and other manufacturers of aftermarket kits, is the claim that their kits are direct replacements. The only way to prove that claim one way or the other would be to take Thiele-Small measurements. The same holds true for some folks on Ebay who are selling what are obviously re-coned 150-4C's. The claim is the E145 cone kit is a direct replacement, but until someone produces T-S parameters on a 150-4C, the claim can never be verified.