Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 76 to 84 of 84

Thread: JBL M2 Master Reference system okay for 2 channel home audio setup? ...

  1. #76
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    64
    I've just got my newly acquired M2s up and working. Thanks to Thomas' great work I'm using the openDRC DIs. A Crown K2 is driving the woofers and a pair Ncore 400 monos are driving the CDs. As a temporary measure I'm using 2 Chinese DAC boards that cost all of $12 each. Even so the sound is superb 😀

  2. #77
    Senior Member audiomagnate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Colorado and Georgia
    Posts
    1,014
    Quote Originally Posted by iansr View Post
    I've just got my newly acquired M2s up and working. Thanks to Thomas' great work I'm using the openDRC DIs. A Crown K2 is driving the woofers and a pair Ncore 400 monos are driving the CDs. As a temporary measure I'm using 2 Chinese DAC boards that cost all of $12 each. Even so the sound is superb 😀
    I bet they do. I'm dying to hear a pair after all this time. Some of that cheap Chinese stuff sounds excellent.

  3. #78
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Iceland
    Posts
    139
    I get away with 25w on the compression driver, since Im using 2450sl/be and no Lpad in the signal path.
    D2 with the network in place would require way more power to sing.

    One alternative is to bypass the network and connect the two diaphragms in parallell instead of series, but now we are venturing into diy territory, and modification to the filter is required.

  4. #79
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Valentin View Post
    Hi Isave

    You do not need 1200 watts per speaker that is a fact
    I have been using a crown DCI N4/300. and it's more than enough for a 3 m. Listening distance
    It all depends the volume you mix with


    DCI do have a fan but it is a lot softer than the itech 5000 I also have

    JBL has even put out the DCI tune in in their soft ware downloads





    If your intention is a two way system you can use a Bss blu 50 which is fan less. And pair them with the amps of your desire Brystons 4b would do nicely and 14b should be vast for most applications


    JBL synthesis uses a mark levinson 300watt per Chanel amp in their set up why would you not



    By the way Bss units do have a fan only the Bss blu 50 is fan less
    Hi Valentin.

    Are you still using the DCi 4|300 for the M2's?

    I have 3 M2s coming to function as LCR in a home theater and I currently have one Crown CTs1200 (2x600w) pr. speaker and a BSS Soundweb as DSP. I would really like to simplify my setup, and the DCI amps with BLU-link are very interesting - especially the 8-channel versions where I can drive three speakers off one amp.

    But I am split between the 8x300 and 8x600. The 8x600 is bigger, noisier and more expensive... As it will be used for movies, I need large amount of peak power. Do you (or others) have experience running the M2s on a 300w amp?

  5. #80
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by ISAVE View Post
    I'm sorry I already returned the I-tech 4x3500HD, I couldn't handle the floor noise of this amp or in other word the distortion; it's a great great great touring amp!! but not a studio nor home amp to my opinion.
    The -25db I put on the output, because the room can't handle much power, and just a trial to keep the fans working less.
    I will get tomorrow a pair of I-tech 5000HD from a local AV company and try them out. Based on papers they have signal-to-noise >112 and THD 0.1% , while the I-tech 4x3500HD has signal-to-noise >108 and THD 0.35%,
    So on papers, these should be less floor noise, and I already tested the fan noise, and it's 5 db less on them both compared to the 4x3500HD.
    I will update the thread once I did my test.
    I might be wrong, but I'm inclined to say that your impressions with the I-Tech 4x3500HD is caused by user error. Either wrong gain structure or something setup wrongly in the amp's DSP. I have heard the 4x3500HD myself and I have talked to numerous people having the amp with the M2s, and non of them mentions noise floor or distortion as an issue. "Not being able to handle noise floor and distortion" just sounds like you either "listen to the written specs" or something was setup incorrectly.

  6. #81
    Senior Member Valentin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    730
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonas_h View Post
    Hi Valentin.

    Are you still using the DCi 4|300 for the M2's?

    I have 3 M2s coming to function as LCR in a home theater and I currently have one Crown CTs1200 (2x600w) pr. speaker and a BSS Soundweb as DSP. I would really like to simplify my setup, and the DCI amps with BLU-link are very interesting - especially the 8-channel versions where I can drive three speakers off one amp.

    But I am split between the 8x300 and 8x600. The 8x600 is bigger, noisier and more expensive... As it will be used for movies, I need large amount of peak power. Do you (or others) have experience running the M2s on a 300w amp?
    Yes i am

    for movies the 600 would have 3 more dB of headroom
    dependson size of the room

  7. #82
    Senior Member Mctwins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    521
    Hallo!

    Jonas h....

    If you look at the owner manual at page 55 the 8/300N and 8/600N has the same fan noise, 47dB, this at "re dB SPL @ 1 M".

    I would go for 8/600N, no doubt.

  8. #83
    Senior Member srm51555's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    522
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonas_h View Post
    But I am split between the 8x300 and 8x600. The 8x600 is bigger, noisier and more expensive... As it will be used for movies, I need large amount of peak power. Do you (or others) have experience running the M2s on a 300w amp?
    I'm currently running the dci 4x300N. It's been more than enough power for me except for when the wife and kids went out for the weekend and my M2's were moved into another room and Stravinsky's rite of spring was played. The "-10" light did come on during some of the last parts of part 2. Given the peak power needed I'd go for the 8x600 too!

  9. #84
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    244
    Thanks for the replies!

    Regarding fan noise, I see that they have the same fan-noise so one less issue I will go for the 600w version based on the input when the time is right and be happy with the CTs1200 (2x600w as well) in the meantime. Movies require large peak-power and I will feel safer with 600w.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. JBL Master Reference Monitor
    By Titanium Dome in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 1644
    Last Post: 12-18-2019, 02:11 PM
  2. M2 Master Reference Monitors Arrive in Australia
    By S4700 in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 10-25-2013, 02:03 PM
  3. PA System Setup HELP!!
    By antix in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-12-2012, 08:19 PM
  4. Using HT-processor with 2-channel setup...
    By Jakob in forum Miscellaneous Gear
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 11:56 PM
  5. System EQ & Setup
    By ralphs99 in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-28-2004, 11:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •