Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: Soundcraftsmen

  1. #1
    Member racinoffrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bellevue, Ne
    Posts
    52

    Soundcraftsmen

    I bought a Soundcraftsmen G2241 EQ a few months ago and would like to know if there is any up-grades that I could have done to it. I don't have the knowledge do it so, I will need to have someone do it but first I would like to know if there is any up-grades that can be done. And how much the up-grades would help. I'm not to knowledgable to work on electronics I just like too listen to them. BTW is there anyone that has any info. on it?

  2. #2
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,961
    Don't know if this is worth the effort, or not: http://homerecording.com/bbs/equipme...opamps-263397/
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  3. #3
    Member racinoffrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bellevue, Ne
    Posts
    52
    Ya, I have read that thread and I thought it sounded like a lot of work. I was just wondering if it makes a big difference in sound. Have you heard of this model of EQ? How far behind technology is it? I'm hoping it's not too far. I mean that most of (if not all is out dated)my stuff is "80's equipment. I'm O.K. with at. I just don't want it to be too far.

  4. #4
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,961
    It's a decent model albeit with limited range (12dB) and adjustment (octave bands). Just depends on what you're looking for. I've used a lot of Soundcraftsmen EQs over the years and my favorite is the Pro-EQ 44. The controls just work better, have better range (15dB) covers 1/3 octave ranges.
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  5. #5
    Member racinoffrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bellevue, Ne
    Posts
    52
    Does that last 3db make that much of a difference? I thought it was a 1/3 octave?.

  6. #6
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,961
    Quote Originally Posted by racinoffrd View Post
    Does that last 3db make that much of a difference? I thought it was a 1/3 octave?.
    Depends on how much EQ you need.
    How many slide controls on each channel? 21 on the third-octave EQs. 10 would be 2/3.

    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  7. #7
    Member racinoffrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bellevue, Ne
    Posts
    52
    I see! What do you think about the DC4415 EQ? It's another popular EQ. I haven't seen the Pro EQ44 on ebay.

  8. #8
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,961
    Soundcraftsmen made many versions of very similar EQs with different names, in different colors, with different graphics to match each newer version of their pre-amps, etc. Some were intended as add-ons to other systems or installations and others were matched to other Soundcraftsmen components. It's hard to follow all the different model numbers. Some are tall, some are short, some model numbers were 17-inches wide and others were 19. I've used and have several of them. The Pro-EQ 44 is the best of all of those I own.

    What are you trying to accomplish?
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  9. #9
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NoVA - DC 'burbs
    Posts
    8,334
    Quote Originally Posted by racinoffrd View Post
    I see! What do you think about the DC4415 EQ? It's another popular EQ. I haven't seen the Pro EQ44 on ebay.
    Maybe you need to wait a few weeks or months until one appears again ... patience, grasshopper.
    2ch: Oppo, JoLida 502CRC, JBL L212, 18ti,240ti; Heath AS101, Von Schweikert VR4
    7.1: Oppo BDP103D, B&K, UREI 809A, JBL B460

  10. #10
    Member racinoffrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bellevue, Ne
    Posts
    52
    I'm just looking for a good quality Soundcraftmen EQ. I'm not sure the one I got is it (G2241). I also have a Pro EQ22. I'm thinking of going back to that one. My G2241 smells like smoke and I don't like that too much. I would really like an EQ with 21 bands but I have not been able to find that. Maybe hjames is right I just need more patience.

  11. #11
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,961
    The Pro-EQ 44 was made to be paired with the Pro-Control-Four control center pre-amp. Buy the pair and you'll be eternally happy!
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  12. #12
    Member racinoffrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bellevue, Ne
    Posts
    52
    Well, I do have the Pro Control Four. So, I think I'll stick with my Pro EQ 22. Or, should I do that? You wouldn't what to sale me yours, would you? Lol. I'll just keep looking for a Pro EQ 44. I'm curious, how do they make an EQ go with a certain preamp?

  13. #13
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,961
    Quote Originally Posted by racinoffrd View Post
    I'm curious, how do they make an EQ go with a certain preamp?
    Pretty obvious, actually. Same way Crown made the SL2, FM2, and amps to match. It lets people buy what they want or need and, usually, add to it later. Some folks like some aesthetic coordination. Some don't care. The Pro-EQ 44 (the number of slide pots?) was integrated to work with the loop circuitry in the Pro-Control-Four, and the tape/line application, yet it's own controls allow it to function equally well with any other brand or system.

    I use the Soundcraftsmen Pro-Control-Four, Pro-EQ 44, Pro-Tuner-Four but I run my Crown amps with them because I just like the sound better than the Pro-Power-Four. FM isn't that important to me. Most of my "radio" listening is off a Squeezebox Touch so I only bought one Pro-Tuner-Four and my other Soundcraftsmen/Crown system uses a Crown FM3.
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  14. #14
    Member racinoffrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bellevue, Ne
    Posts
    52
    Thanks guys! I'll just keep looking. Maybe I will get lucky and find a Pro EQ-44 some day.

  15. #15
    Member racinoffrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bellevue, Ne
    Posts
    52
    By the way BMWCCA. Do you have a good picture of the front of your Pro EQ-44? I was just wondering if it has the same buttons as mine. I'm always hitting them when I go to adjust the sliders. Then I turn the EQ off and wonder what happened to the music. I know it's not a bad thing (there is worse things) it's just an annoyance.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Soundcraftsmen purchase help
    By JBLAddict in forum Consumer Amps
    Replies: 221
    Last Post: 03-04-2019, 09:54 PM
  2. Soundcraftsmen MA5002
    By John in forum Professional Amps
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-20-2016, 07:48 PM
  3. Soundcraftsmen A-100 Amp Help.
    By pureh2o in forum Miscellaneous Gear
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 07:37 AM
  4. Soundcraftsmen MA5002
    By John in forum General Audio Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2006, 02:03 PM
  5. Soundcraftsmen, same as the Hafler?
    By still4given in forum Professional Amps
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 10-12-2004, 06:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •