Thread: TEC Hall of Fame Awards 2012

TEC Hall of Fame Awards 2012

Many thanks to Mark Gander of JBL Professional for inviting me to attend the 2012 TEC Hall of Fame Awards ceremony 2012 at the NAMM (National Association of Music Merchants) trade show in Anaheim, CA. Mark, along with the late, great John Eargle, befriended us Lansing Heritage site founders waaaay back in 2000 and provided unlimited access to the JBL archives from which this site's literature archives were largely built. In a similar vein, the TEC Foundation honors the "founding fathers" of professional sound as a central part of its mission. You can read all about the TEC Foundation, their Hall of Fame Awards and the 2012 inductees here:

http://tecfoundation.com/hof/12techof.html

I have been attending the NAMM Show for more than thirty years, since the days it was so small it fit into the limited exhibit space of the Disneyland Hotel. For most of this time I was employed as a piano tuner for one or more of the piano companies exhibiting, and my worker badge enabled me to attend the actual show as well. More recently I have finagled a badge as a member of the Piano Technicians Guild, and this year my company Cogent Loudspeakers joined NAMM. For anyone interested in musical instruments in any way this show is the land of milk and honey! Virtually every company marketing musical products worldwide exhibits at this show. In the past year I have awakened my limited talents as an amateur drummer, and so I delighted in spending hours banging on the world's finest drums and cymbals at the show. Yes!

This was my second TEC Awards ceremony, thanks to Mr. Gander. Site co-founder Don McRitchie and I were present at NAMM to witness the induction of the Lansing Iconic loudspeaker two years ago.