+ Reply to Thread
Page 122 of 135 FirstFirst ... 2272112120121122123124132 ... LastLast
Results 1,816 to 1,830 of 2022

Thread: JBL Performance Series

  1. #1816
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,358
    The top graph is the L212 system summed. The bottom graphs are the B212 and L212 side panels separate.

  2. #1817
    Senior Member jblsound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    2500 m above sea level
    Posts
    460
    Quote Originally Posted by 4313B View Post
    The top graph is the L212 system summed. The bottom graphs are the B212 and L212 side panels separate.
    The reason I thought the bottom was the PT800, due to it looking close to being -6db @ the XO point. It certainly looks a lot more than -3db, as quoted in the L212 manual.
    Living in the Land of the Sun

  3. #1818
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    629
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post
    finally added an AVA7 to the PS 5.1 system
    since I'm using my HK AVR preouts, there's no trigger to the amp. Is there any harm other than some minor current draw leaving it on all the time so I can just turn on the AVR?
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  4. #1819
    Senior Member jblsound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    2500 m above sea level
    Posts
    460
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post
    since I'm using my HK AVR preouts, there's no trigger to the amp. Is there any harm other than some minor current draw leaving it on all the time so I can just turn on the AVR?
    Well, you can leave it on, I don't know what the idle current is.
    My Parasound HCA2205A draws 1500 amps, so I always turn it off.
    Living in the Land of the Sun

  5. #1820
    Senior Member rdgrimes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post
    since I'm using my HK AVR preouts, there's no trigger to the amp. Is there any harm other than some minor current draw leaving it on all the time so I can just turn on the AVR?
    No harm done, in fact there's credible evidence that such electronics prefer to stay on 24/7. However you can also use one of the available power strips with "master-slave" configuration to control power. Just be sure it has adequate load rating.

  6. #1821
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    629
    Quote Originally Posted by jblsound View Post
    Well, you can leave it on, I don't know what the idle current is.
    My Parasound HCA2205A draws 1500 amps, so I always turn it off.
    Quote Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
    No harm done, in fact there's credible evidence that such electronics prefer to stay on 24/7. However you can also use one of the available power strips with "master-slave" configuration to control power. Just be sure it has adequate load rating.
    1500 amps when not in use? I don't quite understand how that would be or if that's true of all amps including mine?

    I keep my PS1400 on full time since the triggers don't perform very well IME, and I had read here about the value of staying continually "on"
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  7. #1822
    Administrator Mr. Widget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    8,419

    1500 Amps! Damn!

    1500 amps is about the full load of 10-15 average households.

    1500 watts is more like it and that is under full output with the current draw reduced significantly at lower power. Many amps will have their idle power listed.


    Widget

  8. #1823
    Senior Member jblsound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    2500 m above sea level
    Posts
    460
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Widget View Post
    1500 amps is about the full load of 10-15 average households.

    1500 watts is more like it and that is under full output with the current draw reduced significantly at lower power. Many amps will have their idle power listed.


    Widget
    Yep Widget, MY BAD. I MEANT 1500 WATTS. But being that amp was made back in '98~'99 it does not show idle power. But the newer Halo A51 shows 3000w>4u; 25w idle.

    I was just looking at the new ('12) A31, 3 channel amp. 1800w; only 1w idle!
    Living in the Land of the Sun

  9. #1824
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    629
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Widget View Post
    Many amps will have their idle power listed.
    do you know where this can be found for the AVA7?
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  10. #1825
    Senior Member jblsound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    2500 m above sea level
    Posts
    460
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post
    do you know where this can be found for the AVA7?
    I was looking earlier, as I was reading your post. I could not find anything but full power.
    Living in the Land of the Sun

  11. #1826
    Senior Member rdgrimes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post
    do you know where this can be found for the AVA7?
    If you're really curious, get one of those meters for measuring watts.

    http://www.amazon.com/P3-Internation.../dp/B00009MDBU

    With no input, most amps will use just the amount of power that gets converted to heat.

  12. #1827
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    629
    Quote Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
    With no input, most amps will use just the amount of power that gets converted to heat.
    thanks, that's good enough for me...
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  13. #1828
    Senior Member rdgrimes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Quote Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
    If you're really curious, get one of those meters for measuring watts.

    http://www.amazon.com/P3-Internation.../dp/B00009MDBU

    With no input, most amps will use just the amount of power that gets converted to heat.
    I decided to splurge and get one of the Killawatt meters. Kind of fun to play with. At idle, a PS1400 uses 29W. My Sunfire 400x5 amp uses about 40W when it's on with no input. It's also surprising how little juice is used in normal listening.

    The meter also keeps a total tally of K-Watt hrs used over time, so you can calculate what you're spending on juice.

  14. #1829
    Senior Member jblsound's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    2500 m above sea level
    Posts
    460
    Quote Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
    I decided to splurge and get one of the Killawatt meters. Kind of fun to play with. At idle, a PS1400 uses 29W. My Sunfire 400x5 amp uses about 40W when it's on with no input. It's also surprising how little juice is used in normal listening.

    The meter also keeps a total tally of K-Watt hrs used over time, so you can calculate what you're spending on juice.
    What are those Sunfire amps rated @ full power? My HCA2205A is 1500w full power. 1100w of that is output to the speakers.
    Living in the Land of the Sun

  15. #1830
    Senior Member rdgrimes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Quote Originally Posted by jblsound View Post
    What are those Sunfire amps rated @ full power? My HCA2205A is 1500w full power. 1100w of that is output to the speakers.
    This model is 405WPC x5 into 8u 20-20K. 810 WPC into 4u at clipping. It has a 15 amp fuse. It's also rated to 1600 WPC into 2u with a "time limited" stipulation.

    I did some more testing with the meter. Running the Sunfire and 2x PS1400 through the meter. Playing the 5.1 SACD of Brothers In Arms (Dire Straits) at 0db I saw around 250W total usage (bouncing from 150-300). At -10db it dropped to 150 and at normal listening level (-15db) it's real close to 100W. Of course that is not any reflection of peak power, just "RMS".

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Difference between the D series & K series JBL speakers?
    By tWreCK in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 09-29-2012, 11:51 AM
  2. L100 and 43XX Monitor Legacy
    By Don McRitchie in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-22-2012, 08:09 AM
  3. Performance Series Expanded, "New" K2
    By Titanium Dome in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2005, 01:47 PM
  4. Jbl Le15 Blue Series
    By kalkan0 in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-28-2005, 08:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts