Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Got me a nice Crown "receiver"

Got me a nice Crown "receiver"

My original intention was to get something along the lines of a Marantz 250/3200/112 combo or perhaps a 2325 but it`s been tough to find. Prices, operational issues, questionable mods, cosmetics kept me from settling on something when I came across this.

OK so it`s not technically a receiver, how about "modular receiver"?
    Crown Power Line 3 amplifier, Straight Line 2 pre-amp and FM 2 tuner.
    Picked up as a set locally in near mint condition!

At only 90 wpc I`m hoping my 4425s will get along well, 99.9 percent of my listening falls well short of the speakers 1 watt sensitivity level so I should be good.
    I must admit as a long time Crown owner/user/fan, I have no knowledge or experience with this particular series, only that they and the speakers are of the same vintage, maybe someone can enlighten me.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

You got a pre-amp I've lusted after for years. A fine little unit. The amp is essentially the consumer version of the PS200, another fine piece. The FM2 is a great tuner though where I live I wonder why anyone spends 10¢ on a tuner these days when a Squeezebox Touch will outperform any of them and access never-ending material. That being said, I own an FM3 (thanks to a forum member who is no longer with us). You have a fine "little" system there, you lucky dog!
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

Quote Originally Posted by BMWCCA View Post