+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Transforming B&W 801s into 1400 Arrays

  1. #1
    Senior Member audiomagnate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    492

    Transforming B&W 801s into 1400 Arrays

    I recently picked up two pairs of broken B&W 801s with the intention of turning them into one functioning pair. I was thinking of turning the extra pair of bass cabs into subwoofers. Then I picked up a pair of EV SP-12bs and thought about making an updated version of an Aristocrat. Then it occurred to me how much the 801 cabs resemble the 1400 bass cab and the light bulb came on. These would be the perfect basis for a 1400 clone, so that's what I'm going to do after I get the 801s done.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  2. #2
    Senior Member Audiobeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    St. Peters, Mo just west of St. Louis.
    Posts
    2,255
    Shame on you!

  3. #3
    Senior Member Audiobeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    St. Peters, Mo just west of St. Louis.
    Posts
    2,255
    Actually I'm a big fan of the 801's. I like them better than the 1400 Arrays. Don't let me sway you as I have some poor tastes.

  4. #4
    Administrator Mr. Widget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    8,511
    Quote Originally Posted by Audiobeer View Post
    Actually I'm a big fan of the 801's. I like them better than the 1400 Arrays.
    Aesthetically or sonically?

    I haven't heard any of the 801 permutations in years, but I have heard the 800D compared to the 1400 Array a few times... I think it is a draw or perhaps slightly in the 1400 Array's favor, and they are half the price of the B+W 800D.

    Aesthetically, I am not crazy about 801s, 800Ds, or the 1400 Arrays.


    Widget

  5. #5
    Administrator Mr. Widget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    8,511
    Quote Originally Posted by audiomagnate View Post
    These would be the perfect basis for a 1400 clone, so that's what I'm going to do after I get the 801s done.
    Then shouldn't you be fitting a pair of LE14H-3s in them?


    Widget

  6. #6
    Senior Member audiomagnate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    492
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Widget View Post
    Then shouldn't you be fitting a pair of LE14H-3s in them?


    Widget
    Of course. I'm about fifteen minutes into this project at this point. The EVs were just part of the evolution of the thought process, so I figured I put that photo in. The SP12B has to be mounted from the rear, so that option died almost instantly; theres no "back door" on a B&W cabinet. It is a pretty nice "full range" driver BTW. I was surprised at how high it goes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KH7vEPtrMs Do I really need -3s? -1s seem more common on eBay.

  7. #7
    Administrator Robh3606's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Destiny
    Posts
    7,515
    Do I really need -3s? -1s seem more common on eBay.
    They should work if you can drop a 14H-3 into an L250Ti you should be able to drop a 14H or -1 into an Array clone. You may have to tweek things a bit with the higher crossover point.

    Rob
    "I could be arguing in my spare time"

  8. #8
    Administrator Mr. Widget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    8,511
    Quote Originally Posted by audiomagnate View Post
    Do I really need -3s? -1s seem more common on eBay.
    To clone, yes... to design a similar speaker that is also good, you can probably get away with LE14H-1s. If you are patient you can possibly get the LE14H-3s from Harman for ~$300 ea.


    Widget

  9. #9
    Senior Member audiomagnate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    492
    What's the difference between the -1 and the -3?

  10. #10
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,425
    Harman has LE14H-4's available.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,120
    Quote Originally Posted by 4313B View Post
    Harman has LE14H-4's available.
    My LE14H-3s came shipped loose in a cardboard box with the remains of a little piece of styrofoam under the magnet. They miraculously survived, but be prepared for disappointment when ordering from them.

    On the other hand, the 435ALs all came very well packed and all survived.

  12. #12
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,425
    Quote Originally Posted by JeffW View Post
    They miraculously survived, but be prepared for disappointment when ordering from them.
    Very true. I was going to order a pair for myself last week but decided not to chance it. I get really pissed off when I order a new JBL driver and it shows up all beat up or broken because some asshat can't pack it right.
    Quote Originally Posted by JeffW View Post
    On the other hand, the 435ALs all came very well packed and all survived.
    I ordered six of those once to get three usable ones. JBL did eventually replace the broken three.

  13. #13
    Administrator Mr. Widget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    8,511
    Quote Originally Posted by 4313B View Post
    I ended up ordering four Tannoys on Friday instead. They never, ever, ever come in at anything less than perfect.
    Yeah, but they sound like Tannoys...

    I know what you mean though... JBL finished goods meant for retail seem to all be well packed, but ordering B stock, parts, and blow out specials is a real crap shoot.


    Widget

  14. #14
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,425
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Widget View Post
    I know what you mean though... JBL finished goods meant for retail seem to all be well packed, but ordering B stock, parts, and blow out specials is a real crap shoot.
    I suspect Crown is going to put an end to it once and for all when they finally get their head around the situation. They need to dump these third party vendors with little vested interest in their operations and pay the cost of doing business with their own employee base.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Widget View Post
    Yeah, but they sound like Tannoys...
    That isn't a problem.

    If there's any problem at all with Tannoy it's that they too have ceased selling their components over the counter due to counterfeiting.

    I think JBL stopped because they got tired of people calling them and asking "I just purchased two LE15H's, what do I do with them?" I know for a fact that kind of thing got on alot of people's nerves.

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. JBL 1400 Arrays and 1500 Array sub together
    By tom1040 in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-30-2010, 06:28 PM
  2. * Say I Were Building Some Custom Line Arrays*
    By Loud & Clear in forum General Audio Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 09:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts