Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Charge Couple - 250TiLE.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    36

    Charge Couple - 250TiLE.

    Hello CC Guru's,,
    I am planning and wanting to CC the crossover and have a quick question wrt the attached schematic. I understand from reading the threads here that I need to double the value of the capacitors then add one identical to make pairs.

    I need clarification on whether I need to do this on ALL the capacitors - meaning including the bypass ones like 0.01uF and 0.005uF or just the higher value ones?

    Your help is much appreciated.

    Name:  N250TiBQ.jpg
Views: 254
Size:  79.1 KB

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Posts
    1,469
    Hi, Generally you would not worry about installing the bypass caps at all. Some however, do. If you choose to do so, just use the bypass caps as they are now. I.E. bypass each group of capacitors.

    Allan.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by Allanvh5150 View Post
    Hi, Generally you would not worry about installing the bypass caps at all. Some however, do. If you choose to do so, just use the bypass caps as they are now. I.E. bypass each group of capacitors.

    Allan.
    Thanks much Allan for the advice. So I went ahead and modified the diagrams as shown below with the bypass caps removed from the circuits.

    Does everything look correct? Any other suggestions before I start shopping for the parts?

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  4. #4
    Senior Member Amnes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    219
    Looks good to me. Might do it in mine some time too.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by Amnes View Post
    Looks good to me. Might do it in mine some time too.
    Thank you Amnes for the confirmation of the modified circuits. Come on and lets do it.
    I'll be biamping the speakers as well.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    74

    What amps...

    Quote Originally Posted by JBL_620 View Post
    Thank you Amnes for the confirmation of the modified circuits. Come on and lets do it.
    I'll be biamping the speakers as well.
    will you be using?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Uncle Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Oregon City, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    374
    Quote Originally Posted by JBL_620 View Post
    Thank you Amnes for the confirmation of the modified circuits. Come on and lets do it.
    I'll be biamping the speakers as well.
    Are you using an active crossover? If so you can eliminate much of the larger and more expensive components. Also, others with much experience have recommended using Solen caps without the need for bypass caps. There is a really, really good build thread here by 4313b somewhere, though for the version that uses bars to select padding. Still, much to be learned there due to the excellent construction technique.
    "Zobel is as zobel does"

  8. #8
    Senior Member Uncle Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Oregon City, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    374
    Almost forgot.... If you are building from scratch and using new inductors, make sure you get the dc resistance (DCR) from the existing inductors. This resistance does affect the crossover, and you may need to provide additional resistance.
    "Zobel is as zobel does"

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Houston, Tx.
    Posts
    90
    Thread on 250ti CC network:
    http://www.audioheritage.org/vbullet...thread.php?289

    I have been warned that the bi-amping quest can lead to a redesign of the network.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Posts
    1,469
    Quote Originally Posted by grey View Post
    Thread on 250ti CC network:
    http://www.audioheritage.org/vbullet...thread.php?289

    I have been warned that the bi-amping quest can lead to a redesign of the network.
    Not really. This cabinet was made to be bi amped in the first instance.

    Allan.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Paul View Post
    Are you using an active crossover? If so you can eliminate much of the larger and more expensive components. Also, others with much experience have recommended using Solen caps without the need for bypass caps. There is a really, really good build thread here by 4313b somewhere, though for the version that uses bars to select padding. Still, much to be learned there due to the excellent construction technique.
    Yes, Uncle Paul, I'll be using an active XO (main reason is to experiment and learn). I am currently putting together a part list with price and got about 40% done and I am already at ~$600 (for both speakers). I anticipate the toal for parts alone is about $1K at minimum. I am only shopping at Parts Express as I don't know anyone else.

    Looks like I am looking at two different and separated projects here: Charge Coupled and Biamp.
    My plan is to keep the original passive XO's and build new ones from scratch to play with. I'll use the original passive XO when biamping (bypassing the low but still use the passive network for the mid's and hi's). I'll using the Behringer DCX2496 as an active XO for the experiment. Once I learn more about the biamp, I will shop for more hi end unit then but for now the DCX2496 should be sufficient.

    The question I have for the experts here is:

    Can I still biamp with the CC passive network that I will be building? I was not planning to run both simultaneously though as I don't know if you can do that or what the advantages are from that.

    Thank you.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Paul View Post
    Almost forgot.... If you are building from scratch and using new inductors, make sure you get the dc resistance (DCR) from the existing inductors. This resistance does affect the crossover, and you may need to provide additional resistance.
    Uncle Paul, can you elaborate more on this?
    I will be building from the scratch and will buy all the components and construct the circuit as shown on the CC schematic. Does not work like that? Thanks.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    36
    Need help on finding the right values for these parts.

    Seems they don't make the inductors in these exact values, What equivalent are you using to get these values:

    0.03mH
    0.18mH
    0.5mH

    Same for the 3.9 Ohm 10W resistor, can I use a 4 ohm resistor, or four 1 ohm resistors in series? With 5% tolerance, I think this should work.

    Your advice and guidance is much appreciated. Thanks.

  14. #14
    Administrator Robh3606's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Rocinante
    Posts
    7,983
    When I built my Jubilees I just purchased a coil size a bit larger and then just wound off some coils. For the resistor you can use 4 ohms

    Rob
    "I could be arguing in my spare time"

  15. #15
    Senior Member Uncle Paul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Oregon City, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    374
    [QUOTE=JBL_620;322607Can I still biamp with the CC passive network that I will be building? I was not planning to run both simultaneously though as I don't know if you can do that or what the advantages are from that.[/QUOTE]

    You can absolutely biamp using cc networks - that should be the ultimate. Once again for the biamped network you can drop much of the network components (everything to the LE-14-1 but add a zobel, and the high pass portion going to the 108H) since the electronic crossover will be doing the low pass to the woofer and the high pass to the mid woofer. Or you can leave it stock.

    Quote Originally Posted by JBL_620 View Post
    Uncle Paul, can you elaborate more on this?
    I will be building from the scratch and will buy all the components and construct the circuit as shown on the CC schematic. Does not work like that? Thanks.
    Basically, measure the DC resistance of the original inductor, then measure the DC resistance of the replacement. The use a series resistor to make up the difference. (I'm making an assumption here that the new inductor has less DC resistance, which is usually true) This gives the new inductor effectively the same electrical characteristics of the new one, so it's behavior in the circuit is effectively unchanged.
    "Zobel is as zobel does"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. New to recone have couple ??
    By Joespride in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-17-2011, 06:25 PM
  2. A couple of questions...........
    By RIGGED in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2010, 04:41 PM
  3. A couple of things...
    By Regis in forum General Audio Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-25-2006, 06:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •