Thread: Phono Soundstage or Preamp?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Phono Soundstage or Preamp?

Folks I am kinda new at the vinyl thing...

I have a Denon DP-40F table running to the phono input on my McIntosh C-22 Preamp, fired by McIntosh 240 tubes....

Question: Do I need a phono soundstage or preamp? If so, what does it do for my system?

Thanks for any guidance here. Shaan

Short answer: probably not.

Longer answer: maybe... but it would be dependent on the cartridge, not the turntable.

Really long answer: (sorry, got to scramble to the carpool)

Grado F-3+

Quote Originally Posted by grumpy View Post
    Short answer: probably not.

Longer answer: maybe... but it would be dependent on the cartridge, not the turntable.

Really long answer: (sorry, got to scramble to the carpool)
    Thanks Grumpy.... looks like my cartridge is a Grado F-3+.... so Soundstage? Preamp?

I am pretty sure the tone arm is the original Denon.

Any other ideas that would improve my sound....?

Don't get me wrong, I think it sounds like s dream right now, but I wonder what I might be missing... Thanks, Shaan

The McIntosh C-22 (Original or Re-issue) has a perfectly fine phono input and should not need an outboard phono stage. If he C-22 is an Original unit, it would sonically benefit from service, as there are a number of capacitors that are out of spec.

C-22's spec'd phono "stage" (internal phono pre-amp) gain of 62dB is sufficient for just
    about any cartridge (including your F3+); but the case of a very low output moving coil
    cartridge that likes to be loaded with less than 47K ohms, there -could- be benefits to
    using a stand-alone phono preamp into an aux input, or step-up transformer into the
    C-22's phono input. Lower noise floor, different dynamics, RIAA eq implementation,
    channel matching, etc... might be areas of improvement or just change (that you might
    like or not).