Thread: Speaker stand and cable ends for 4430

Speaker stand and cable ends for 4430

hi,
    I am a newbie and currently trying to setup a pair of 4430.

I am wondering what's the recommendation for a speaker stand options to support a pair of 4430? I.e., I have never heard a 'matching stand' from JBL pro.

Speaker cable termination on the 4430 appears to be designed for bare wire and can't take any banana or spade plugs, any recommended method to terminate the speaker cable properly?

Thanks for all recommendations.

Hello, I too own a pair of 4430 Monitors, and I'm sure there's lots of us 4430 brothers here. I know offhand quickly, Zilch as well is another 4430 owner.

I imagine anything could be done if desired, and you wish to spend the money to do this. With my own speakers, all I did was buy eight cherry picked 12"x12" square plain Red Concrete Tiles from Home Depot, washed them, set them in a square pattern on the floor, using four tiles for each speaker to equate to 24"x24" square Base, and then placed the Speakers upon them. when I got the speakers, they did not have any Glides on the bottom Skirt, so, I also bought eight 3/4" diameter Glides, (with the nail) measured where I wanted them, and pounded them in to the bottom-underside of the Skirt.

The options I suppose could be limitless, one could even put cones, but the one thing is, this isn't exactly an easy speaker to deal with, lugging around, at 127 lbs each! It's definitely a "one man hernia maker".

One could make a taller "Skirt", that the Speaker's existing Skirt could slip down into. Let's say as an example, 3/4 " thick Plywood Sheet, 8" to 10" tall, (or whatever height you choose) internally braced at its bottom. Provided construction is good, I see no problem, and the weight of the speaker will certainly keep all coupled up firmly without the need of screwing this Skirt to the Speaker. Mark

I had a problem with my previous post, writing more (odd why i couldn't?) so I'll continue again here.