Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Jbl Everest Dd66000

Jbl Everest Dd66000

Just wanted to let you all know that I picked up a magazine and discovered a little detailed write up on the Everest DD66000 in HI-FI Choice. The forthcoming issue will have a review on them, Should be interesting.

I would also like other opinions on what people think about the Everest DD 66000 compared to other high end speakers which will remain nameless. Why I ask this is because I feel the Everests are IMO the best loudspeaker on the planet and I would like to thank Greg for all his work he put into them.

surprised you haven't had any replies on this in three days, however, there is a very small contingent who've had the fortune/luck to hear these.

although I have very little experience trying out the high end gear, I did have again, the fortune, to spend a solid 1/2 day with the E2, K299.., 4338, S4800 TS8000, Wilson Puppy, and few others in the Tokyo area (Akihabara) about six months ago.

The E2 experience still haunts me. There was a presence of pure music that just cannot be put down in words. The Wilson's were $27K IIRC and there was absolutely NO comparison to the E2. Maybe it was the room and 100K in Dartzeel pre/amps + Luxman SACD player, but I doubt it's anything less than the speaker itself. It was one of those very rare moments of total euphoria that I just could not pull myself away from. Unlike yourself, my time with them was finite, and knowing once I left, I would likely never hear them again, made it that much more difficult to depart.

Before that day, it seemed simply illogical to consider spending $65K on a pair of speakers, but I now understand how, if you have the money, the choice would be more than easy. Only problem is that if I somehow could own them, I better have enough money to allow me to never work again, as I'd spend the majority of my waking hours locked in a room with them floating in bliss................................