Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello! Calling all dual 2235 sub owners

slider908

Hello! Calling all dual 2235 sub owners

greetings everyone,

As a neophyte to audio, i have been a long time observer of this forum. i am new to you, but most of you do not seem foreign to me. i am very inexperienced in cabinet building as well, having almost the experience. i love jbl and have a friend with a pair of heavily modded hartsfields. i am 16 years old and still a senior in high school still, but still try to pursue my passion of audio. since age 12 i have taken notice of various audio companies (from electrostatic to horns) and have found jbl to be my favorite amongst the rest. i live in hawaii so shipping costs make the job of getting components and parts difficult
    i acquired a pair of 2235s a few months ago but haven't built cabinets for them yet because i don't really know what to do with them. at the time i thought you could just slam a pair of woofers in a enclosure and expect all to go reasonbly well, with the enclosure on affecting a small part of the sound. i have learned that you are listening to mainly the enclosure and what a large role it plays in the system. this was hard for me to accept, but i am beginning to understand it a bit more. i have noticed some of you in an old thread mentioned to have had a dual 2235 setup. could you give me the dimensions and port dimensions as well. at first i was seeking 20 hz extension with the 2235s, but as time went by i realized that this contains its own set of compromises due to the large VAS and low qts. i have decided anything below 28 hz will do nicely as the room response will help compensate. this will double as a music/movie sub but mostly 2 channel stereo. i am seeking accuracy over output, but still expect good output from these reputable 2235s. i need help learning how to calculate port dimesions, box volume, and everything else involved in building speakers.