Thread: About VLF in music

About VLF in music

Just for fun I sampled Strauss's "Also Sprach Zarathustra" from a telarc CD I have here. I wanted to check the frequency of the very low rumble and now my question is:
    What instrument can produce this steady note at that frequency, (16Hz) I rule out pipe organ since this is from a symphonic orchestra and no pipe organ is being heard there, at first I thought it could be the slow rumble of some kind of drum but the frequency is so steady that I doubt it.

Does some kind of string instrument go that low? I'm no musician, so I'm at lost.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

There are a few instruments that have been made to go lower than 10hz but you will not find them in an orchestra. The low frequency is probably produced by a sub harmonic synthesizer. These generate octaves below what is being recorded to give the recording harmonic content that would otherwise not be there.

Allan.

Quote Originally Posted by Allanvh5150 View Post
    There are a few instruments that have been made to go lower than 10hz but you will not find them in an orchestra. The low frequency is probably produced by a sub harmonic synthesizer. These generate octaves below what is being recorded to give the recording harmonic content that would otherwise not be there.

Allan.
    That's not the kind of Telarc, they specifically say that this recording was unaltered in any ways

Maybe somekind of contrabass?

Thanks Wikipedia!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Also_sp...ard_Strauss%29

The piece starts with a sustained double low C , 32' pitch, on the double basses, contrabassoon and organ.
    So, that "double low C" is 16Hz?

There is an organ apparently, so it's probably it.

Thanks for the other link Grumpy!

JBL 4645