Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Speaker Cable...quick recommendations

Punch

Speaker Cable...quick recommendations

I did a search and it was pretty extensive.

A few questions:

McIntosh MA6500 IA to the 250Ti's

#1 Speaker cable recommendations? I was going to go with the Kubala-Sonsa with Spades for $250/pr for 7' I am a cable novice, and I am not sure I need to spend that much though I know others spend A LOT more.

#2 I will keep experimenting with the room, but is there an ideal distance between the speakers (audio stand is equidistant between them)? Should I be 6' on each side (12' apart total)...7'...8'??? I was not sure how much cable to get....I do not want it too long, but I also do not want it too short so I cannot spread them out even further if needed.

Thanks.

Why spend big money on cables when you can spend it on music instead?
    check the last half dozen or so posts in this thread -
    http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/s...ad.php?t=23092

Go to the 6 Moons site and look up the White Lghtning Moonshine cable article - basically its a white Walmart 40' extension 3-wire cord with the ends cut off and dual banana connectors soldered on. I bought 2 cords, cut them in half and made 2 pairs of 20' cables for my biamp monitors.

BMWCCA recommended it and I'll vouch for the quality sound!

For non-Biamp use, its $8 for the cable and maybe $24 for 4 high end connectors - certainly worth trying!

Markertek order for 8 of each (each cable needs one dual at each end)

8 [NYS508-B] Neutrik NYS508-B Dual Banana Plug - Black @$1.70/ea = $13.60
    8 [NYS508-R] Neutrik NYS508-R Dual Banana Plug - Red @$1.78/ea = $14.24

Quote Originally Posted by Punch View Post

A few questions:

McIntosh MA6500 IA to the 250Ti's

#1 Speaker cable recommendations? I was going to go with the Kubala-Sonsa with Spades for $250/pr for 7' I am a cable novice, and I am not sure I need to spend that much though I know others spend A LOT more.