+ Reply to Thread
Page 14 of 15 FirstFirst ... 412131415 LastLast
Results 196 to 210 of 221

Thread: AV Component Front-ends

  1. #196
    Senior Member HCSGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bend, OR
    Posts
    444

    ACE-515 Surge Protection

    FWIW, we recycled all the ACE-515's that we had laying around from old jobs, as we were told by Adcom the surge protection varistors had probably degraded from use and they could not guarantee any level of protection. So, use it as a turn on relay, but plug it into a newer surge protector if you're worried about your equipment...

  2. #197
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    DC 'burbs
    Posts
    7,253
    Quote Originally Posted by HCSGuy View Post
    FWIW, we recycled all the ACE-515's that we had laying around from old jobs, as we were told by Adcom the surge protection varistors had probably degraded from use and they could not guarantee any level of protection. So, use it as a turn on relay, but plug it into a newer surge protector if you're worried about your equipment...
    Good point. I got mine for the power up/down delay feature - and it does that very well!
    2ch - Oppo DV981, JoLida 502, JBL L200+, KEF 105.4
    HT7- Oppo BDP-93, B&K amps, Vandy 2Ce, 2Ci, VCC1, DCM TF600 & 4641

  3. #198
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,343
    Quote Originally Posted by hjames View Post
    Good point. I got mine for the power up/down delay feature - and it does that very well!
    Me, too. Still waiting for it to arrive. I've never run protection for anything. Probably why the caps on the Harman/Kardon DVD/CD player bloated. If so, oddly enough nothing else had a problem.

    Just "won" the appropriate NOS Adcom rack ears off The Bay today in an uncontested opening-bid of $15.99, including shipping.
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  4. #199
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    DC 'burbs
    Posts
    7,253
    Quote Originally Posted by BMWCCA View Post
    Me, too. Still waiting for it to arrive. I've never run protection for anything. Probably why the caps on the Harman/Kardon DVD/CD player bloated. If so, oddly enough nothing else had a problem.

    Just "won" the appropriate NOS Adcom rack ears off The Bay today in an uncontested opening-bid of $15.99, including shipping.
    Not sure when your DVD player was made - but there is a well know period of Asian gear when bootleg caps (yes, really) were in the market. Its one reason the mac G5 was such a problem ... and a lot of gear of that era has problems due to the expanding/failing caps problem.
    2ch - Oppo DV981, JoLida 502, JBL L200+, KEF 105.4
    HT7- Oppo BDP-93, B&K amps, Vandy 2Ce, 2Ci, VCC1, DCM TF600 & 4641

  5. #200
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,343
    Quote Originally Posted by hjames View Post
    Not sure when your DVD player was made - but there is a well know period of Asian gear when bootleg caps (yes, really) were in the market. Its one reason the mac G5 was such a problem ... and a lot of gear of that era has problems due to the expanding/failing caps problem.
    Funny, my iMac (the first G5 version) just killed it's second logic board. It had the logic board and the power supply replaced back when it was under Apple Care extended warranty. It's now about seven-years old. Don't know the date on the H-K but it's not that old. I do have the old caps for reference. My other cap-challenged appliance is a three-year-old Westinghouse HD-LDC TV. Another of those known problems so well documented on the Internet. Those bad caps must have been used for 5-years or more before these companies wised up. All for saving a few cents!

    My experience at the Apple Store over the past week is a whole 'nuther story about buying a new iMac for my daughter and the poor customer service involved in transferring the data and a keyboard replacement (AppleCare) on my MacBook Pro. Not the right place or time right now! I'm beginning to realize Apple is no longer in the computer business and is really only catering to the iPhone/iPad crowd these days. Maybe they are ripe for becoming part of Harman.
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  6. #201
    Senior Member HCSGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bend, OR
    Posts
    444

    Ace-515

    I think I saw another ACE-515 in the back of one of the cabinets this afternoon. If anyone still needs one, let me know - it will be cheap...

  7. #202
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wash DC suburbs
    Posts
    1,151
    Did someone mention cheap???

    I am still searching for one. I don't care if we go private or not, what are the details ?

    Mark
    Think center channel for 250TIs; (2) 108s, a 104 and a 44ti, now what?

  8. #203
    Senior Member HCSGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bend, OR
    Posts
    444
    Paypal me $40 and I'll ship it to you, though I need to test it first, so there's no way it will get out before Monday. I'll PM you my email address this weekend after I've tested it. As I mentioned earlier, assume the surge protection is dead - this is out of a system that was installed in 1991, so it's no spring chicken or NOS virgin, but it looks great.

  9. #204
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wash DC suburbs
    Posts
    1,151
    Good deal! I want it, period , I do wonder if those parts can be replaced.

    Whenever is ok, going on an almost all Adcom system (cheap Adcom cd player, anyone have one?)

    Thanks

    Mark

    (sorry for OT Heather)
    Think center channel for 250TIs; (2) 108s, a 104 and a 44ti, now what?

  10. #205
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    DC 'burbs
    Posts
    7,253
    Quote Originally Posted by opimax View Post
    Good deal! I want it, period , I do wonder if those parts can be replaced.

    Whenever is ok, going on an almost all Adcom system (cheap Adcom cd player, anyone have one?)
    I would think Bill Thalman and his folks could rebuild a surge protection circuiit for ya
    http://www.musictechnology.com/ - Springfield, VA

    They've done great with the Adcom stuff Steve and I have had them work on in the past ... As well as fixing my Citation 22.
    2ch - Oppo DV981, JoLida 502, JBL L200+, KEF 105.4
    HT7- Oppo BDP-93, B&K amps, Vandy 2Ce, 2Ci, VCC1, DCM TF600 & 4641

  11. #206
    Senior Member SEAWOLF97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    The West ....... (is the best)
    Posts
    6,520
    Quote Originally Posted by opimax View Post
    going on an almost all Adcom system
    I'm with you on this one Mark ...last year I picked up a "free to good home" GFA-555 (internal fuses blown - common occurrence ) , then a GTP-500 mk2 preamp and finally a
    GDA-600 DAC* ... ...still looking for more , as I learn what Adcom has produced...

    when I drove up to Tsawwassen to purchase my 250Ti's from Marty (JBLCanuk) , he had all Adcom gear and I could hear no deficiencies.

    *incredibly SMOOTH DAC , I havnt heard too many, but none that I've demo'ed were that smooth sounding.
    A man on foot or a bike will see more, feel more, enjoy more in one mile than the motorized tourists can in a hundred miles

  12. #207
    Senior Member svollmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Looking 4 Squirrels!
    Posts
    393
    I second Heather's recommendation of Bill and the folks at Music Technology.

    Mark: didn't you buy a GTP-760 pre/pro? If so, you can get an Adcom GCD-575 for cheap and run the digital out of it into the GTP-760's digital input and you'll get excellent results. I know people have different views of whether D/A converters sound different or not, but I had an "OMG" experience the first time I let my GTP-760 do the D/A conversion for me.

    I'm told that it's almost the equal of Adcom's GDA-700 D/A converter. Those units are snapped up real quickly whenever they appear on Audiogon, so there's buzz out there about them. Of course, you don't need the Adcom CD player, just one with a 75 ohm digital output.

  13. #208
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,343

    Adcom rack-mount ears, anyone?

    Quote Originally Posted by BMWCCA View Post
    Just "won" the appropriate NOS Adcom rack ears off The Bay today in an uncontested opening-bid of $15.99, including shipping.
    I'm dealing with some a*s-wipe who insists what he sent me were Adcom RM-3 rack ears measuring 2-15/16" long. His ebay listing showed the Adcom box and installation sheet. I got used ears with hardware-store bolts in a you-pick-em bag. The ears measure 3-15/16" which I take to be RM-4. He keeps asking me if I'm installing them correctly!


    So, two questions:
    1. Anyone need some Adcom RM-4 rack-mount ears, cheap? They fit on that GTP-760!
    2. Anyone have any Adcom RM-3 rack-mount ears, cheap?

    $44 from Adcom plus shipping seems a bit ridiculous. I'll take a hack-saw and a drill to these first!
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  14. #209
    Senior Member Fred Sanford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley
    Posts
    1,608
    Quote Originally Posted by BMWCCA View Post
    I'm dealing with some a*s-wipe who insists what he sent me were Adcom RM-3 rack ears measuring 2-15/16" long. His ebay listing showed the Adcom box and installation sheet. I got used ears with hardware-store bolts in a you-pick-em bag. The ears measure 3-15/16" which I take to be RM-4. He keeps asking me if I'm installing them correctly!


    So, two questions:
    1. Anyone need some Adcom RM-4 rack-mount ears, cheap? They fit on that GTP-760!
    2. Anyone have any Adcom RM-3 rack-mount ears, cheap?

    $44 from Adcom plus shipping seems a bit ridiculous. I'll take a hack-saw and a drill to these first!
    They'd fit my GTP-600, too...no pressing need for them here (it happily sits on a rack-mounted shelf), but I might be interested if you can't find a home for them.

    je

  15. #210
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,343
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred Sanford View Post
    They'd fit my GTP-600, too...no pressing need for them here (it happily sits on a rack-mounted shelf), but I might be interested if you can't find a home for them.
    The seller is happy to take them back but I figure by the time I go to the post-office, pay return shipping, and get ticked-off when he doesn't send me any refund, I'll be out $20. I'd rather give them away. They're a nicely made extrusion that would keep everything in complementary widths. If I don't hack/machine them while looking for real RM-3s, I'll let you know—or let me know if you find you have the need. Swap you for the PS-200?
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Sloped front JBL?
    By jbl-ahhh in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 11-15-2009, 07:45 AM
  2. Simply Cinema ESC 200, need help identifying component.
    By Wayne in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-06-2008, 10:36 AM
  3. JBL blue paint for speaker front panel
    By spirou38 in forum Lansing Product DIY Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-12-2006, 02:14 AM
  4. front mount or rear mount
    By Andreaspaulsen in forum General Audio Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-15-2005, 01:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts