+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: witch amp for altec a7?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    8

    witch amp for altec a7?

    Hi guys,

    I have buildmyself some altec a7's, but i don't now what amps are best for them. I want a ss amp not an tube amp. I don't think i really need a lot of power because i am going to use the speakers for home use only.
    Drivers are 416-8c, 511b with 908 and home made crossover type n-501. Now they are coupled to a yamaha m2 amp with about 2 * 200 watt power, they sound ok but that amp has to go, so i have an open choice...
    I already looked for a crown dc300, this is likely the standard option but i am afraid they will be sounding to harsh because they were used for pa, same with phase linear 400. Is the little quad 303 a possibility or maybe the 405, these look me decent amps, easy to upgrade and reasonable priced. Maybe other options?

    Thanks,

    Kris

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Via de WiFi
    Posts
    273
    I have heard a pair of Altec 846A Valencia work excellently with a rebuilt QUAD 303. Good match for your A7.

  3. #3
    Senior Member louped garouv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    formerly "the city where imagination takes precedence over fact"
    Posts
    2,148
    what kind of levels are you looking for?

    in what sized room?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    8
    Room size is about 5m x 4m, what do you mean with levels, if you mean soundlevel, well i'm not looking to become deaf , but i want to have some weight in the music
    I like an amp to be as simple as possible, therefor the quad option...

  5. #5
    Administrator Mr. Widget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    8,379
    Quote Originally Posted by kris View Post
    ...if you mean soundlevel, well i'm not looking to become deaf
    Then why A7s?

    Sorry I couldn't resist.

    A vintage SS amp that I have always loved that has moderate power is the 40wpc GAS Grandson. It has enough umpf to hurt you with an A7 and it is quite a nice sounding amp especially at low power levels... not all SS amps play well at really low power levels. With a high sensitivity system like an A7 you will likely never use more than a couple of watts.


    Widget

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    8
    The grandson looks great indeed, is there a preamp from the same range? I have to say i live in Belgium, so voltage is 220 volt here, as i read the grandson is german build?

  7. #7
    Administrator Mr. Widget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    8,379
    Quote Originally Posted by kris View Post
    i read the grandson is german build?
    No, it was built in Southern California in the late 1970s.


    Widget

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    8
    Yeah, i read the article the wrong way... Its a very nice amp, but i think it's going to get difficult to find one in europe, certainly in 220 volt setup!
    So then we come back to the quad, any other suggestions?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    8
    To go on on this topic, i looked a bit further for poweramp's and find the jlh 2 x 10 watt ss amp looks like a good match.
    Anyone having experience with this one? And witch pre amp can you use with this one, or can you connect a cdplayer straight on to the amp?

  10. #10
    Senior Member louped garouv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    formerly "the city where imagination takes precedence over fact"
    Posts
    2,148
    is this the one?
    http://www.stardi.com/legend-diy-amp...s-a-amplifier/

    I have no experience with that particular amplifier,
    but can say that a preamp is generally desirable.

    especially if the amplifier does not have sensitivity/attenuation controls,
    that way you can adjust the playback level.


  11. #11
    Senior Member Progneta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio
    Posts
    153

    Altec a7

    I have been collecting altecs for years as I currently have 30 + altec A7 systems with crossovers, 515 woofers, and 500-800-1200 hz crossovers all original. My amp of choice is a good tube such as a Mc, amp or if you go solid state, I really like the McIntosh 7150 or 7300 on a set of A7s.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    8
    That is the one in the link, but there is a more upgrade version made in '95. I think it is possible to put a volume pot in the amp, so it is possible to work without a preamp. Although i see many people who don't like this sytem (almost a passive preamp) and return to use a preamp...
    Mcintosh is indeed a very nice amp, but they are kind of ...pricey...

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Amp choice, now I'm confused...
    By scorpio in forum Lansing Product DIY Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-2009, 08:24 AM
  2. right ohm rating for guitar amp
    By jackrhein in forum General Audio Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2009, 06:56 PM
  3. Marantz 1200 Int. Amp and 10B Tuner
    By hakka26 in forum Miscellaneous Gear
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-30-2008, 12:55 PM
  4. 250 Ti test vintage tube and modern amp
    By gerard in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-07-2007, 01:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts