Thread: JBL 4410 Recommended Amp

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

JBL 4410 Recommended Amp

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I have a pair of JBL 4410s. I was wondering what amp you would recommend for them? Whats tried and true etc... I have them for my home studio setup for recording and want to move on to an amp that suits the speakers. I figured you guys would be the most knowledgeable.

Thank you very much,

James

Quote Originally Posted by bekman View Post
    This is my first time posting here. I have a pair of JBL 4410s. I was wondering what amp you would recommend for them? Whats tried and true etc... I have them for my home studio setup for recording and want to move on to an amp that suits the speakers.
    Welcome.

It really doesn't make a lot of difference and the answers will likely just include everyone's favorite amps . . . so I'll start with mine.

I have a pair of 4412As and a pair of L80Ts. The latter is nearly identical to your 4410 in driver complement. I use them both with Crown amps. Sometimes that's a PS-400 and sometimes that's a PS-200. Those are essentially a more modern version of the Crown DC300A-II and the D150A-II which would likely have been a pretty common amp for your monitors when they both were new and outfitting professional studios back then. The speakers are rated at 125w and normally JBL recommends an amp capable of twice the rated capacity to ensure adequate headroom. So a 200wpc amp would be about right.
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

I was just browing the internet to see what I currently have as an amp. It looks to be a JBL/Urei SR6630 amp. I got it from work. It was overheating when kept on for long periods of time due to a fan being out. Also the 4410s are rated at 125 watts correct?

-James