Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Identify Theatre Speaker for me?

16hz lover

Identify Theatre Speaker for me?

Back in the small town I grew up in, the old theatre is still standing. I recently contacted a buddy to see if he would stop by and find out if they still had the same speakers in it that they had when I was a kid. I graduated from High School in '74 so I would bet they are 1950/1960 models? He did just that yesterday and the owner took him in the back and showed him this big horn system---1 speaker only. They had just recently shoved it over to the side and are wanting someone to take it out of there. It is one big bass bin that is about 7 ft tall and a horn array which has 3 rows of 4 cells in it. You can see in the dark pictures that there are two bronze colored compression drivers at the bottom of the horn. There is also a control box which you can see at the top of the RH side of the bass bin. He said there were very large cables going up to the top where the horn assembly was.

Anyone know exactly what it is?

Thanks

- Steve Schell is the expert here for this vintage ( RCA ) stuff .

- First off ( IMHO ), you should make arrangements to obtain this stuff today / you'll regret a delay ( if I'm right about my assumptions ). Some of what I see is highly collectable .

- The horn appears to my eyes as an RCA multicell / the horn-drivers in the background are RCA ( field-coil types ) from the 1930s.
    - They'll either be MI-1425(s) or MI-1428(s).
    - The model difference ( I believe ) is mostly in the voltage necessary to energize the field-coils . In case you don't understand, the drivers have no permanent magnets / so without a charging voltage they won't work .

- The bass bin appears to be a Shearer horn from the same era . The woofers ( therefore ) are also likely to be RCA .

>< cheers

16hz lover
    Quote Originally Posted by Earl K View Post
    - Steve Schell is the expert here for this vintage ( RCA ) stuff .