Thread: Help Critique My Cabinet Design, Please!

Help Critique My Cabinet Design, Please!

Greetings!

I am laboring with a design and I just don't know how well I am doing since I am a novice at this.

I am building a 3-way system which has a 15" bass woofer. I have most of the design worked out and cabinets built. Now I am just trying to nail down the woofer selection and crossovers.

I originally designed the cabinets for JBL 15" woofers. However, I am having some questions and I just don't know if I am on the right track.

So, before I blow some serious money I need some help from the experts to review my design and tell me if I am on-track or way off track.

To make it easier for you I created a web site that contains the whole design and how I got to where I am.

I am thinking that the JBL 2235H is the best candidate for this design, but someone else pointed out that the Dayton DC380-8 may be a better fit.

So, I ran both designs in BassBox Pro 6 and XOver Pro 3 to look at both.

Have I done my work correctly? I need your input to tell.

Also, which woofer will be better and why?

Thanks for looking. Here is my design.

I just wanted to say thank you for all of you that took the time to read my appeal for help and to those that actually vised my web site.

This may have not been the best place to ask for those opinions, but nevertheless I appreciate all of your time.

JBL has always been kind of endeared to my heart when I bought my first pair of D-140Fs in high school and put them into my first version of the "Pyramids" long ago. I guess I was looking for some valid rationals to consider using the 2235 over my current woofers and maybe to recapture some of the glory from the old days.

Maybe the only way to really answer that question is to take the plunge and find out for myself. If/when that day happens I will be glad to report my findings back to all of you.

Many thanks,

Loren