Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Double 136a's with single 2118?

Double 136a's with single 2118?

Hello Lansingheritage,

I started building speakers just 3 years ago, so I'm still a rookie struggling with the basics. Here's two interrelated questions:

Q1. I've got four 136a's and a pair of 2118J, all in good shape. I plan to do a 3- or 4-way, active x-over. In your experience, will a single 2118's cut it in terms of power handling, output, etc, the double 136a's having a efficiency of 93+3=96dB (see Q2) vs the 97dB of the 2118, or should I lose them and get 2123's?

Q2. About dual drivers, there seems to be general agreement that if one uses two drivers in parallel, eg two 136a's, each with a sensitivity of 93dBspl/2.83Vrms/1m, one will get +6dB more output, eg 99dBspl, than with a single driver (with the same rms voltage drive). Fine, the 3dB are because you deliver twice the power to the drivers, but I cannot grasp why each driver apparently becomes twice as efficient (ie, the remaining 3 dB) just because it's now working in tandem. Taking the argument ad absurdum and doubling the number of drivers - and therefore also the efficiency - over and over, one eventually arrives at a situation where the drivers would apparently be delivering more acoustic power than they are receiving in the form of electric power. That was a long question, I hope someone knows a shorter answer!

Thanks in advance, Thomas

The quick answer is because you are doubling the cone area with two drivers... that gives you the second additional 3dB of output.

The first additional 3dB of output is by halving the impedance or doubling the load to 4 ohms from 8 ohms.
    Edgewound...JBL Pro Authorized...since 1988
    Upland Loudspeaker Service, Upland, CA

Yo Thomas

The efficiency of the bass drivers is irrelevant --- since you plan to go fully electronic the overall system efficiency is that of the least efficient diver.