Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 72

Thread: Yamaha P-2200

  1. #1
    Registered User paragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    962

    Yamaha P-2200

    Got my new (old) poweramp to drive my 4530 today.
    Looks good, everything is working after 30 years.
    Sounds like new.
    I love this wide range analog peakmeters on old amps !
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Senior Member SMKSoundPro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    1,031
    I have 4 P2200's, 2 2100's and 1 2050 all from the same era!

    I Love them! I am using a 2200 for 2-18" subs, another 2200 for lows, a 2100 for highs and the 2050 for the UHF slots!!! This is the rig in my workshop above the bar.

    It sounds GREAT!!!

    It seems nobody wants these amps, or that no one gives them up for sale, very often.

    They are definitely a winner in my book, and when I am done at the bar, this rig will be coming home to our music/ tv/ workshop space.

    I have the original service manuals if you encounter a problem.

    Thanks for posting the pictures!


    Scotty.
    One step above: "Two Tin Cans and a String!"
    Longtime Alaskan Low-Fi Guy - E=MC² ±3db

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jblnut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Central Mass
    Posts
    887
    Very nice !

    Count me in as a big fan of these very underrated (and underpriced!) amps. I have the PC2002M and PC4002M currently, and I've owned the PC2602M too. All are just great workhorse amps that are well behaved, run cool (except the 4002) and sound great. I can't for the life of me figure out why these sell for 1/2-1/3 of what the comparable Yamaha consumer amp would sell for (like the M80). Yet when new, these were 2-3x MORE than their consumer-grade counterparts.

    Enjoy

    jblnut

  4. #4
    Senior Member Fred Sanford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Shenandoah Valley
    Posts
    1,608
    Quote Originally Posted by SMKSoundPro View Post
    I have 4 P2200's, 2 2100's and 1 2050 all from the same era!

    I Love them! I am using a 2200 for 2-18" subs, another 2200 for lows, a 2100 for highs and the 2050 for the UHF slots!!! This is the rig in my workshop above the bar.

    It sounds GREAT!!!

    It seems nobody wants these amps, or that no one gives them up for sale, very often.

    They are definitely a winner in my book, and when I am done at the bar, this rig will be coming home to our music/ tv/ workshop space.

    I have the original service manuals if you encounter a problem.

    Thanks for posting the pictures!


    Scotty.
    I've got four of the P2100s for 20+ years now, and love them...and, just recently, found a need for the service manual! One side of one of them is running abnormally hot (still passing audio, but going into thermal shutdown very quickly). You could really save the day if I could get a copy of one, please let me know if that's possible.

    Thanks,

    je

  5. #5
    Senior Member SMKSoundPro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    1,031
    Fred, PM on the way!
    One step above: "Two Tin Cans and a String!"
    Longtime Alaskan Low-Fi Guy - E=MC² ±3db

  6. #6
    Registered User paragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    962

    yammi amp

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Member rs237's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    398
    Hello Pargon,

    I have a Yamaha PC2602M and use it to time with my DIY Hartfields. See here:
    http://www.audioheritage.org/vbullet...ad.php?t=19890
    (Last Page)
    I had been very pleased with the Amp. They told me, but there are better amp. I just build a pair of Nelson Pass Claas A amplifiers. I will report on the results.

    regards
    juergen

  8. #8
    Registered User paragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    962

    Hum

    There is hum in the right channel. After 15 Minutes there is no hum at all.
    Anything is working. Whats wrong ?
    Wäre mein Englisch nicht so besch....!

    Regards, Eckhard
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  9. #9
    Senior Member rs237's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    398
    Hallo Eckhard,

    was meinst du mit Hum (mein englisch ist auch besch...) ? Brummen ? 50 bzw 100Hz Netzbrummen ? Hat dein AMp getrennte Netzteile oder wenigstens getrennte Siebung für beude Kanäle ? Es snd bestimmt Elkos die an Kapazität verloren haben. Hast du einen Schaltung ?

    Fragen, Fragen, Fragen, und du wolltest eigentlich eine Antwort.

    mfg
    juergen

    What do you mean Hum (my English is also besch ...)? Hum? 50 or 100Hz hum? Did your AMp separate power supplies, or at least separate screening for both channels? It is intended to capacity electrolytic capacitors have lost. Do you have a schematic?

    Questions, questions, questions, and you really wanted an answer.

    regards
    juergen

  10. #10
    Senior Member Hoerninger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,908
    Quote Originally Posted by paragon View Post
    There is hum in the right channel. After 15 Minutes there is no hum at all.
    Anything is working. Whats wrong ?
    Hallo Eckhard,

    it is an elko for shure, they get old and some day they are dead.
    But is the hum influenced by volume control?

    Is it noticable regargless of input channel, I mean always the same during the first 15 minutes? ( My old Grundig behaves this way, an elko in the power supply needs to be exchanged - but it is stored away.)
    ____________
    Peter

  11. #11
    Senior Member SMKSoundPro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    1,031
    I have the service manual for the P2200 if needed.

    PM me if desired.

    Scotty.
    One step above: "Two Tin Cans and a String!"
    Longtime Alaskan Low-Fi Guy - E=MC² ±3db

  12. #12
    Registered User paragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    962

    Diagram

    Here is a diagram from the net. Than you all !


    Regards, Eckhard

  13. #13
    Senior Member rs237's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    398
    Hello Eckhard,

    First I would C116 and C117 replace. R134 you should also check.

    Regards

    juergen

  14. #14
    Senior Member Hoerninger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,908
    Eckhard, I'd do it just like Juergen. Choose a higher voltage for the C's, 25 to 35volts, C117 has been under severe pressure. (13volt x 1,4 - 1,4volt = 16,8volt bigger than 16volt ) Peter

  15. #15
    Senior Member rs237's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    398
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoerninger View Post
    Eckhard, I'd do it just like Juergen. Choose a higher voltage for the C's, 25 to 35volts, C117 has been under severe pressure. (13volt x 1,4 - 1,4volt = 16,8volt bigger than 16volt ) Peter

    Yes Peter , good Note. Eckhard, also watch whether the Main Voltage Selector at 240 volts.

    regards
    juergen

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Yamaha manuals and parts
    By duaneage in forum Miscellaneous Gear
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-12-2006, 12:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •