Thread: D123 or D130 for guitar amp use?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

D123 or D130 for guitar amp use?

I'm sitting here watching the Derek Trucks Band's Songlines Live DVD (early birthday present) and thinking how wonderful everything sounds over the 030 system in my living room. I'm a long-time frustrated guitarist, having given it up over 35 years ago because I got far more enjoyment out of listening to good players than I did trying to be one. Well my lovely wife, obviously attune to my desire and frustration, gave me a (cheap, used) Epiphone Les Paul Classic for Christmas. So, I'm knocking around on it and thinking I could probably put together a practice amp from the old junk I've got laying around here. I'm thinking of using either a spare D130 or D123 and a spare Crown D150-II or PS-200. I know Harvey thinks highly of the D123 for guitar (times four though) so I'm wondering what I might have I can use for input and what kind of input a standard electric guitar might need. I know I played my EB-0 bass through my system (same 030) when I was a kid, but I don't remember how I hooked it up. I'm obviously not looking to tour with this rig, just to have something to let me hear my mistakes in the privacy of my own home. So, do I need a preamp and with what kind of input level? I know; dumb question!

You looking only for clinically clean tone, or some shaping &/or overdrive? There are a million things on the market, and at least a half dozen things in my house that would work...I have an old Chandler Tube Driver that's rack mounted, it's pretty much exactly what you're describing.

Quick quote to answer your question: