Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Veneer help please

Veneer help please

As you may have noticed I am reaching the finishing stage of my project.
    I freely admit I am not that experienced at veneering and worse I aim to use quarter cut oak with rays ( see pic they are the pale marks ) which tends to be chippy or brittle. Of course I will do a test but any input would be most welcome.
    My main concern is the splitty nature of dry veneer but tell me about the adhesive versus moistening the veneer.:dont-know
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Food for thought

Riessen once gave some instructive tipps for veneering, the best I have ever found in this forum:
    http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/s...4&postcount=10

MJC
    Using a good quality contact cement is the first step, imho, water base contact is best. Use a small foam roller to apply.
    Before I stained the veneer, I gave it a like sanding, and NOT with real fine sandpaper, as I was using a Black Stain Concentrate, and wanted to get a deep black, not a Walnut color. I just keep soaking the veneer until I got the shade of black I wanted, let it sit per instructions and then wiped it off. Let it cure for a day and then apply the finish.

Thanks guys

Still looking for tips on getting round that curve ( L 300 style rounded edges )

MJC
    Quote Originally Posted by macaroonie View Post
    Still looking for tips on getting round that curve ( L 300 style rounded edges )
    Well, if you are running the grain of the wood length-wise with the corner, then there should be no problem. It will easily bend around the corner.
    If not then you might have to lightly score the back of the veneer with a sharp knife.

I do alot of pieces with solid Quartersawn White Oak lumber.

My best advice or comment will be to wish you luck!

As you already know, the grain is reversed and all the edges are as brittle as can be. The medulary rays are similar to flakes and almost seem to be applied rather then in the wood.