Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: JBL L100T's

JBL L100T's

Just purchased at set of JBL L100t's because in the past I've heard numerous JBL setups that sounded awesome. AFter reading numerous excellent reviews I couldn't resist. After hooking them up I was disappointed to hear a weak hollow sound, almost like an old PA speaker that's barely working, like all the sound comes out all of the speakers, not really separated or full.

At first I thought it was a lack of power to push them because I was only using a 70 watt per channel kenwood. I then bought a Denon receiver/amp that pushes a little over 100 per channel, and while it sounds very nice on my polks, the JBL still sounds horrid. Anybody have any ideas? No speakers are blown.

Sadly there is no jbl repair center anywhere near here, so I can't take them in to have them looked at. If any can give some ideas or solutions I would apprecaite it. There is no way a set of these JBL's should sound this bad. Oh and btw, I'm new to the forum

Thanks, Allen

You might want to start by posting a photo or two on this site. It's possible, given the propensity for speakers of that age to have deteriorated surrounds, that someone could have replaced the speakers with generic components. A shot of the front with the grilles off could at least help to confirm you're starting with the correct components. If the originals were re-surrounded you could have a wiring problem, or a bad crossover. From your description it sounds like a lot more than just a phasing issue.

Did you get a chance to listen to them before you bought them, or was it a purchase off that "auction site"?
    Best bet is to pop the grill off and have a look at the drivers. Also take some pictures and post them here.