Thread: JBL L-200

JBL L-200

I have JBL L-200 speakers. They are about 33 years old.
    I think i've managed to damage the horns in these great speakers.
    A friend of mine made me a pair of tweeters. At one point, one of them fell from on top of the speaker. Since then, the horns don't work. So my question is how do I know whether it's the horn itself or the crossover? Can I change one without changing the other?
    Should I try to find and install new horns or sell the speakers for whatever they're worth and buy something new?

Sure - I have some experience with those speakers - been working with a pair of them lately updating drivers and crossovers,

Well, the big questions are - what are you using for tweeters, and how were they connected?

Generally, your speaker was made as a 2 -way, with an internal network that splits the incoming signal into LF (low Freqs for the woofer), and HF (the high freqs) for the horns.
    To add a tweeter you generally feed the HF side of the original crossover to an external crossover that splits the "highs" into Medium freqs (MF) for the horn, and a new UltraHigh Freqs (UHF) for the new tweeter. Depending on how he did it, he may have put the new crossover and new tweeter on top of your speaker, with a line that ran back in to feed the horns. When the new tweeters fell, if that new line for the horns broke/came loose - no signal to the horns.
    Might be as easy as just reconnecting the horn wire - or more involved.

Got any pictures or more detailed info??
    2ch: WiiM Pro; Topping E30 II DAC; Oppo, Acurus RL-11, Acurus A200, JBL Dynamics Project - Offline: L212-TwinStack, VonSchweikert VR-4
    7: TIVO, Oppo BDP103D, B&K, 2pr UREI 809A, TF600, JBL B460

L-200

I'll make some pictures tomorrow,
    The way I've got the speakers - there is wires from inside and amps (and tweeters) connected to them. And both horns are dead! Not just one.
    Thank you!

l-200

tweeter, wires
    Attached Images Attached Images