Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Technical drawing TAD 2402?

enjoy_the_music

Technical drawing TAD 2402?

trying to integrate an ET-703 tweeter with a TAD 2402. Could do with the dimensions for the 2402 cabinet...in particular the dimension from the diaphram of the 4001 driver to the front of the cabinet!

Trying to time align the ET-703 you see!!

Regards

Richard

TAD Tweeter

Richard,

In order to time align, getting things on the same plane doesn't get your drivers time aligned. Their will be some phase shift through the crossover. What you need to do is align them acoustically, taking the crossover into account.

What sort of crossover did you intend for the ET-703? The ET-703 doesn't have the greatest looking response curves all by itself.

Cyclotronguy

enjoy_the_music
    Hi,

Well the TAD's sound very nice as-is. However i was thinking of a 3rd order crossover in the 10khz area. The 703's are pretty flat up to 45khz.

I'm a crossover novice...i don't really want to have a complicated crossover it makes things worse in the opinion of a few pro companies.

I built some custom stands for them this week in oak..the sound has improved immensely!

Quote Originally Posted by Cyclotronguy View Post
    Richard,

In order to time align, getting things on the same plane doesn't get your drivers time aligned. Their will be some phase shift through the crossover. What you need to do is align them acoustically, taking the crossover into account.

What sort of crossover did you intend for the ET-703? The ET-703 doesn't have the greatest looking response curves all by itself.

Cyclotronguy

Quote Originally Posted by enjoy_the_music View Post
    However i was thinking of a 3rd order crossover in the 10khz area.
    That is a great idea. I have used them that way and they blend in quite nicely.

Quote Originally Posted by enjoy_the_music View Post
    The 703's are pretty flat up to 45khz.