Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: I'm doing something wrong?

  1. #1
    Junior Member mwaldron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    22

    I'm doing something wrong?

    Good day,

    When I try to get to LH via my normal method, I get a url not found;

    www.audioheritage.org.......
    When I go to;

    http://audioheritage.csdco.com/vbull...ad.php?t=17232

    I get in no problem,

    What is the correct / supported URL to use as my bookmark?

    Thanks for the help,

    Mark
    Last edited by mwaldron; 06-26-2007 at 10:31 AM. Reason: clarification

  2. #2
    Senior Member Storm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    1,266
    Must be your browser. I dont get url not found, I get the homepage.



    -Storm.

    Quote Originally Posted by mwaldron View Post
    Good day,

    When I try to get to LH via my normal method, I get a url not found;

    www.audioheritage.org.......
    When I go to;

    http://audioheritage.csdco.com/vbull...ad.php?t=17232

    I get in no problem,

    What is the correct / supported URL to use as my bookmark?

    Thanks for the help,

    Mark

  3. #3
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NoVA - DC 'burbs
    Posts
    8,356
    There is no WWW in the address - some browsers/ISPs will redirect you to the right address when you use an incorrect address, some won't

    But the actual URL is http://audioheritage.org/



    Quote Originally Posted by mwaldron View Post
    Good day,

    When I try to get to LH via my normal method, I get a url not found;

    www.audioheritage.org.......
    When I go to;

    http://audioheritage.csdco.com/vbull...ad.php?t=17232

    I get in no problem,

    What is the correct / supported URL to use as my bookmark?

    Thanks for the help,

    Mark
    2ch: Oppo, Acurus RL-11, JBL 240ti, Heath AS101, Carver TFM-25,Von Schweikert VR4
    7: Oppo BDP103D, B&K, UREI 809A, JBL B460,

  4. #4
    Senior Member kingjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    chicago,IL
    Posts
    1,346
    I'm at my friends car lot right now and I got the same message for about 10 minutes. Seems everything is ok now.

  5. #5
    Junior Member mwaldron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    22

    It's back!

    Thank ya'll for your insight, it has repaired itself with no intervention on my part.

    mw

  6. #6
    Senior Seņor boputnam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    northern california
    Posts
    7,008

    Webpage graphics?

    Anyone else experiencing a lack of the header graphics? The LH logo is not forming for me, nor is the JBL thingy. The Donation button is fine ( ), but the others don't render. Seems specific to this site...

    Photo Gallery down, too, but I may not know of some workers toiling away somewhere...
    bo

    "Indeed, not!!"

  7. #7
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NoVA - DC 'burbs
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by boputnam View Post
    Anyone else experiencing a lack of the header graphics? The LH logo is not forming for me, nor is the JBL thingy. The Donation button is fine ( ), but the others don't render. Seems specific to this site...

    Photo Gallery down, too, but I may not know of some workers toiling away somewhere...
    The URL direct to the Logo is -
    http://www.audioheritage.org/vbullet...es/LH-logo.gif

    and when I do a Shift-refresh (to skip the browser cache and load the page fresh from the server) the logo is gone for me too!

    The smilies are still working - their URL is without the www.

    http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/i...es/biggrin.gif

    Very strange - I think this site doesn't have a www in front of the address (some do, some don't) - so when a link here is coded WITH the www is miscoded and won't work right.

  8. #8
    Senior Seņor boputnam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    northern california
    Posts
    7,008
    Quote Originally Posted by hjames View Post
    ...When I do a Shift-refresh (to skip the browser cache and load the page fresh from the server) the logo is gone for me too!
    Same with "F5".

    Imbedded images in posts still working, but not the logo and Photo area...

    Quote Originally Posted by hjames View Post
    I think this site doesn't have a www in front of the address (some do, some don't) - so when a link here is coded WITH the www is miscoded and won't work right.
    We do not have a www. But I don't know anything about the observed fault.

  9. #9
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    7,007
    It's still not working right. I had to back in using a cached link from Google. Open DNS says: "You tried to visit audioheritage.org, which is not loading."

    It doesn't work with or without a www. Something's broken. I've been trying it without success for at least six hours.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by BMWCCA View Post
    It's still not working right. I had to back in using a cached link from Google. Open DNS says: "You tried to visit audioheritage.org, which is not loading."

    It doesn't work with or without a www. Something's broken. I've been trying it without success for at least six hours.
    I'm not near the computer room, being out of town, however on the DSL where I am, the site seems normal.

    There were private e-mails from Widget and Bo about the problem sent last night which I read this morning. I looked at Apollo and didn't see anything amiss.
    John Nebel

  11. #11
    Senior Seņor boputnam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    northern california
    Posts
    7,008
    Well thanks for checking, John.

    Maybe it's something between us and you - but the character of the fault is unusual for these symptoms...

  12. #12
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NoVA - DC 'burbs
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by boputnam View Post
    Well thanks for checking, John. ...
    I'm on a PC today and have done a forced reload of the site which is at http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/ (no WWW)

    From work the logo is fine, but I can still see the Logo has a path to http://www.audioheritage.org/vbullet...es/LH-logo.gif and the logo is linked to http://www.audioheritage.org/intro.htm which, frankly, shouldn't work (unless that URL is cached or aliased somewhere). You see, http://www.audioheritage.org is NOT the same as http://audioheritage.org - unless somewhere the URL is redirected.

    So - why is it redirected for some of us and not for others?
    Last night when I saw the problem I was on my powerMac using COX cable modem and the page had no logo. Now I'm on WinXP, connected through gov't networks (indirectly AT&T I suspect) and the logo is fine. I can see that the web page's code did not change. FWIW, I use Firefox browser on both systems (version 2.0.0.4 for OS X or Win)

    The "address book" for what "server is where" (kinda the roadmap to the internet) are the Domain name Server (DNS) tables, which get loaded on the servers you connect to to get here when they boot - perhaps there is a difference in the DNS tables for some of us ...
    2ch: Oppo, Acurus RL-11, JBL 240ti, Heath AS101, Carver TFM-25,Von Schweikert VR4
    7: Oppo BDP103D, B&K, UREI 809A, JBL B460,

  13. #13
    Senior Member kingjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    chicago,IL
    Posts
    1,346
    At this moment I have no JBL logo, only the donate button. I am using Comcast Cable.If I click on the logo it tells me can't find www.audioheritage.org. The other box on the left that says Lansing Heritage Forums takes me no where as well when I click on it.

  14. #14
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NoVA - DC 'burbs
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by hjames View Post
    Last night when I saw the problem I was on my powerMac using COX cable modem and the page had no logo.
    ... I can see that the web page's code did not change.

    Quote Originally Posted by kingjames View Post
    At this moment I have no JBL logo, only the donate button. I am using Comcast Cable.
    Darned those CATV companies!!!

  15. #15
    Senior Member kingjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    chicago,IL
    Posts
    1,346
    Quote Originally Posted by hjames View Post
    Darned those CATV companies!!!
    I'm gonna go to my friends car lot here shortly and he has DSL. I'll see if I get the same problem over there.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How bad is an LE111A refoamed on the wrong side?
    By BMWCCA in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-19-2006, 11:25 AM
  2. What problems to expect with surrounds on the wrong side?
    By BMWCCA in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-14-2006, 10:13 AM
  3. 2231As - whats wrong here?
    By Fangio in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-09-2006, 03:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •