Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 0,01 uF cap on 4430 Xover?

robertG

0,01 uF cap on 4430 Xover?

Looking at the schematic of the 4430 Xover, I noticed that all caps were parralleled with another 0,01 uF cap. Why is that?
    Thanks!

dont some people like those for "extra air". im no techie and in no position to talk. I did ask paul if i should put some low value bypass caps in my "new crossovers" and he said not to.

maybe someone else can clarify.

- Here's Giskards' (Techbots' ) basic overview about Bypassing & Charge Coupling ™ capacitors .

- In my own experience, the audible benefits from employing both of these topologies far outweigh ( all ) the additional costs ( both, in physical area occupied and the additional purchase price ) . ( My "home use" horn drivers are Altec 288-8Ks ) .

-Yes ; ( I find that ) bypassing with Polystyrenes ( Film & Foil ) does add a bit of "air" into my perception of the UHF content / while I find that bypassing with Polypropylenes ( F & F ) typically enhances the "definition" of HF signals occuring an octave lower.

- Bypassing with both ;( I find that ) by playing around with the ratio ( formed by the 2 caps' values ) is a fun ( & very time consuming ) way to alter the sonic signature ( or presentation ) of the "base" cap .

- To effect some basic bypassing, I'd suggest starting with JBLs' recommended values ( .01 uF for polypropylene bypass caps ) and ( .005 uF for the polystyrene bypass caps ) . These stated values were empirically derived for use with JBLs' Mylar base caps . That's why I wouldn't be too dogmatic about their inclusion or usage ( & / or the values employed ) when a Polypropylene type cap is used as the base cap .

This is what was written to me. Please forgive me if i have taken it out of context and i will gladly erase it. It did however dissuade me from incorporating them into my setup..