Thread: E130 in 100hz Edgarhorn info

E130 in 100hz Edgarhorn info

I had a pair of E130's reconed w/paper dustcap and had played with them in vented 2.5 cu ft cab tuned to 60 hz.

I found they sounded great off-axis, but I had midrange problems and decided to try them loaded in Dr Edgars 100 hz midbass horn.

Back compression chamber outside dimensions are 17" x 17" x 8.5" sealed w/no stuffing.

Testing on WT2 says fsb is 99.5 hz on one, and 100.5 hz on the other, Qtc on both is 1.15. While I am not a expert, it seems to be good figures to work well.

I am still getting parts together to play this system, but thought I would share some specs on the midhorn/E130.

Midrange horn is Edgarhorn round tractix 500 hz (crossover limit is 800hz), driver is Great Plains 399 (1.4").

Crossover will be 1st order, 1.5 mh on midbass, 24 ufd oilcap on midrange and 1 ufd oilcap on tweeter TBD (2402 - 2404).

Theoretical efficiency: midbass horn - 111db/midrange horn - 115db

Tweeters: 2404 - 105 db and 2402 - 110 db

I will try 2404 first, if there is not enough efficiency to keep up with rest of system I will go to the backup 2402 and accept the lower HF rolloff.

More to follow as I get further in this project. Just thought I would share this if anyone is interested.

Ron
    JBL Pro for home use!

I think mr Edgar recomendīs a second order filter to his Edgar horn.

mats

Dr Bruce Edgar uses 1st order

Mats,

This is my 2nd Edgarhorn system. Bruce started out in the 80's with 2nd order and found out the improvement with 1st order and using enameled magnet wire(copper).

If one used a bass reflex for the bottom end he does recommend a 2nd order for the LF and 1st order for HF section.

Most folks using Edgarhorns systems are powering them with less than 10 wpc. I will start with EL84 SEP (5 wpc) until I tweak the bugs out. I have a pair of Welborne DRD 300B amps for the long haul(7 wpc triode).

If the rain quits sometime today and I get motivated, I will have more to report on.