Page 5 of 35 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 515

Thread: 4343 crossover modifications

  1. #61
    Senior Member B&KMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    492
    Quote Originally Posted by Giskard
    Ok. Let me examine it again.

    Giskard, If you need or wannt any complementary test of info let me know...

    thanks for all.

    I record test for mesure electrical volta with-out 2231 componend connected into a network if this information is pertinant I put on forum

    Jean.


  2. #62
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ont.
    Posts
    4,676
    I not shure if I'M write or read correct but I'm never re-build network, this is my project now and it is my first time...
    I understand that you want to rebuild the network sometime in the future.

    (Maybe I'm not understand all double sense : my english is too poor)
    - I think I am confusing you with past / present / & future tenses of english verbs & phrases .

    - Your english is much better than my french.

    and realy happy and thanks for Guildo for pict of voltage curve.
    - Yes , that was a valuable and timely bit of information .



  3. #63
    Senior Member Guido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,506
    This 3141 schematic also have the 52 uF in Line :shock:


    Or am I now?

  4. #64
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,548
    Yeah, they both look jacked up.

    Run your voltage drives with the wire on either side of the 52 uF and note the changes. Know what I mean?

  5. #65
    Senior Member Guido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,506
    Quote Originally Posted by Giskard
    Yeah, they both look jacked up.
    As I wrote, they are cabled like that !

    Aha! We found the ultimate way to optimize a 3143 network

  6. #66
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,548
    Run your voltage drives with the wire on either side of the 52 uF and note the changes. Know what I mean?

  7. #67
    Senior Member Guido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,506
    Quote Originally Posted by Giskard
    Know what I mean?
    Exactly

    But it will take time to do that.

  8. #68
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,548
    I get changes for the MF and HF but the UHF stays pretty much the same since that value only changes from the nominal 1.0 uF to a nominal 0.98 uF.

    I guess you guys will need to see which sounds better.

    Anyway, at least now you see why I said that 52 uF had to stay...



    No wonder I ran mine bi-amped!

  9. #69
    Senior Member Guido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,506
    Quote Originally Posted by Giskard
    Anyway, at least now you see why I said that 52 uF had to stay...
    Honestly I see no sense why. I biamped mode it is out also. So what the heck.....
    They confused us again

  10. #70
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ont.
    Posts
    4,676
    - It might have been a direction taken in circuit design / based soley on power handling concerns .

    - That 52 uf cap pretty effectively protects the 4uf & 1uf from over voltage.

    - Too bad one has to listen to it to get the benefit of its' protection .


  11. #71
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,548
    I'm inclined to think it was a mistake.

    I'd try wiring it so the 52 uF is only in the MF bandpass.

    See how it sounds.

  12. #72
    Senior Member B&KMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    492
    Quote Originally Posted by Earl K
    - It might have been a direction taken in circuit design / based soley on power handling concerns .
    Bonsoir et merci pour tout ces réponses
    (Good night and thanks for all reply)


    First sorry for confuse "time conjugate" It is tuff to integrate complex electronic material with fence language. Apologise.

    (Iti s very long to compose the response and try what is exactly the response data in my language)

    For this point the 52 UF is run more safe because the caps is more chunk exact...

    Of couse if I subtitute the 52 Cap by a 40 caps plus other 10 Uf caps Plus 2 X 1 UF caps all these caps is in parrallele circuit ??? Yes ???

    So in according the big caps is (EX: 200V) all caps build in parrallele is minimum 200V) ??? For safety right ???

    I try a other way my same question....

    What is a criterion for maching parrallele " component circuit Caps) in regards at the voltage at start ???

    ex: if I have a 52 Uf and the capacity is 400 V all parrallele cicuit caps is value of 400V or alll is sum of 400V ???



    Jean.

  13. #73
    Senior Member B&KMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    492
    Quote Originally Posted by Guido
    Looks not too bad.

    Pic shows theoretical voltage drive.

    HEYS GUYS

    Finnaly this spec is corrolar to 4343 response or not ???



    Thanks

    Jean

  14. #74
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ont.
    Posts
    4,676
    Hi Jean
    Of couse if I subtitute the 52 Cap by a 40 caps plus other 10 Uf caps Plus 2 X 1 UF caps all these caps is in parrallele circuit ??? Yes ???
    Yes,,, that combination = 52 uf .

    So in according the big caps is (EX: 200V) all caps build in parrallele is minimum 200V) ??? For safety right ???
    Yes,,, capacitors when added in parallel get a voltage rating from that of the smallest rated (voltage) cap.
    So,,,, if they are all rated at 200 volts,,, the combinations has a rating for 200 volts.

    Capacitors is series have the voltage ratings of the two caps summed .
    So,,,, two 100 volt caps in series has a voltage rating of 200 volts .

    I try a other way my same question....

    What is a criterion for maching parrallele " component circuit Caps) in regards at the voltage at start ???

    ex: if I have a 52 Uf and the capacity is 400 V all parrallele cicuit caps is value of 400V or alll is sum of 400V ???
    If the circuit actually needed a 400V rating / then all the caps that you use to make up a 52uf combination should have a 400 volt rating .

    But, generally , JBL uses a lot of 100 volt caps in its crossover .

    <>

  15. #75
    Senior Member B&KMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    492
    Quote Originally Posted by Guido
    Looks not too bad.

    Pic shows theoretical voltage drive.
    Well, this pict is a gold information... (I assume is relevant of the 3143 spec.)

    After print in big scale, and check my all mesures and build hand curve by comparison of report data. the verdict is this pict.

    (I adapt my scale x and y for good corrolation in this graph.)

    The weird curve of 15 inch 2231 is
    below at start ???
    double slope is expression of bad caps no ???

    What the f(...) with 2420. Bad soldering ??? bad caps ??? or

    nightmare a war of clone !!!

    It is possible to thrd part is expose this problem of maybe the other remplacement diaghram is not exact good response ???

    So I will go at my start question what the life of CAPS
    (according of the type) ???

    Thanks again Guildo for this precious pict
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Ashly XR1001 Active Crossover
    By boputnam in forum Electronic Crossovers
    Replies: 156
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 09:58 AM
  2. JBL 4343 external crossover needed? help!!!
    By catcaster1 in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-29-2004, 08:23 PM
  3. Questions about the Ashly XR1001 Active Crossover
    By porschedpm in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-2004, 01:37 PM
  4. Upgrading a 4343 to 4344 components
    By porschedpm in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-29-2004, 10:45 AM
  5. L300 convert to 4343?
    By tv506 in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2003, 12:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •