Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making One SR4731x into Two cabs

Making One SR4731x into Two cabs

Howdy folks. I just got a SR4731x with the dual 12" LF drivers and the magnificent HF driver 2447J. I am an amateur in audio box building but have carpentry experience and access to a full-bore cabinet shop.

My question is if I find another 2447j on ebay and used an electronic crossover to bi-amp, is it feasible to make two cabinets out of the one SR4731x, yielding boxes with one 12" LF driver and one 2447J each?

How would I figure out what the size of the cab should be?

Medium Density Fiberboard is probably the best material, right?

The primary purpose of these cabs will be to use as a PA for blues/rock noodling and jamming in my 30 ft by 20 ft home studio.

Any and all advice would be appreciated!

Minatogawaman
    Takasaki City
    Japan

Can you make some sketches of your intended subdivision of the cab?

David

RIP 2009
    JBL's made a number of high-power 12" 2-way systems similar to what you're talking about, so the design is definitely feasible.

John

Tom Loizeaux
    ... but the 2 12s working together really sound great! You'll lose some punch and a little low end if you go with just one 12.

Tom

Thanks Everyone

Thank you all for your input. I am still wondering what to do, but perhaps the best bet is to buy two more 12" LF drivers and put my extra HF driver in a custom cab with those...

...but that would require spousal clearance for a $600 purchase and take up even more space in our typical Japanese home (Ever heard the rabbit-hutch jokes?)

Minatogawaman

Quote Originally Posted by Minatogawaman View Post
    . . . . (Ever heard the rabbit-hutch jokes?) . . . .
    No, but eagerly waiting.

David

RIP 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Minatogawaman View Post
    ...my extra HF driver