Thread: altec model nineteen

altec model nineteen

hello everyone!

i'm not really a speaker pro but i just bought two model nineteen's from a buddy for two hundred dollars.... is this a good deal?

and the speakers are torn in the middle on both of them and are all crusty. if i were to replace the speakers what would you reccomend. any help would be great. thanks alot. ALOT

Great Plains Audio

Great Plains Audio. Bill is a really good guy, give him a call.
    The Model 19 is considered to be one of the best speakers Altec ever made. I have a pair and love them. Bill reconditioned the drivers in both speakers for me and I couldn't be happier with the results.

Nice score!

I have a pair of Altec 846Us - the older brother to these 19's and I could not be more happy with them.

Yeah, I have heard only great things about Great Plains Audio - give them a try.

Or, try eBay for the woofers - they come on quite frequently and sell for under $400.00 for a pair.

Good luck.

Got any pictures? -

Thanks.

Looking forward to hearing your progress on this project!

-Storm.

Gary L
    Deffinately GPA for these fine speakers. You will get the very best rebuild in the country to the exact specs of original and there simply is no better deal when Altec is concerned.
    Have them rebuilt at any other place and the value takes a dive.
    As noted, you can buy the woofers and horns and HF drivers on ebay but you will likely pay a good price and still want them reconditioned.
    If you have all the right parts to begin with then have them rebuilt properly once and for all.
    $200 is a fantastic price so invest another $4-500 in them and have one of the finest speakers Altec ever made.

Gary

you guys are all awesome. thanks for the feedback.