Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: JBL M552 or BRYSTON B10 sub?

JBL M552 or BRYSTON B10 sub?

I use a M552 for my 4350. Iwant buy a Bryston B10 sub.
    Do you have same experiece?
    Bryston B10 is really better than JBL M552? It cost really very much and first to buy I want an opinion from the expert
    Thanks

Paky33

Bryston 10B

I'm no expert, but for what it's worth, the handful of recording studios I've visited were all using Bryston crossovers, and the guys who purchased them probably were experts.
    They seem to be the workhorse choice for recording studio crossovers that JBL once was.
    glen

"Make it sound like dinosaurs eating cars"
    - Nick Lowe, while producing Elvis Costello

I had the Bryston 10B crossovers, and they are very clean, and very well made. But, I find Bryston a bright sound.

The 10B sub will work flawlessly, but there is one minor thing I dont like about them. On the LF ouput there is NO ouput level attenuator, and this means you have to use the amps input level control to adjust for level.
    scottyj

I've tried the following:

JBL 5234A
    JBL M552
    Ashly XR1001

In that order, each has been an improvement over the former.

A custom Bryston is shipping, as we speak. I will post my impressions if favorable, or you will see it on eBay...
    bo

"Indeed, not!!"

I have bought the Bryston.
    It is fantastic!
    The sound is very improved in comparison to the JBL M552.
    I am really satisfied of the purchase apart the cost. It in Italy it costs € 3.300!

Pasquale Lenza

Quote Originally Posted by Paky33
    I have bought the Bryston.
    It is fantastic!
    The sound is very improved in comparison to the JBL M552.
    I am really satisfied of the purchase apart the cost. It in Italy it costs € 3.300!

Pasquale Lenza
    Yea, Pasquale, I think your post sums it up. Bryston beats others, hands-down. And, that quality is costly...
    bo

"Indeed, not!!"

pumache

Bi amp on a JBL 4333 B and JBL M552

Hello