Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: JBL 121A Recone Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    203

    JBL 121A Recone Question

    Hi All

    Picked up a L212 system here in Australia, subwoofer has low output but my local tech should be able to sort the plate amp out.

    Now to the 121A transducer, someone has stuck the foam on the front! This drives me crazy but I wouldn't recone just because of that, I usually would pass if the foam was stuck on the front but the L212's are such a rarity here I had to have them. I would like to have a recone spare just in case.

    Does anyone have a spare recone kit they would sell me or if possible can a local guru assemble one and ship it to me in Australia. There is various reconers in Australia but none I trust. I don't understand why any reconers in the US that know how to cook up JBL recones to spec hasn't gone into the business of doing so? Surely there would be some sort of market out there if someone could build discontinued recones close to factory spec? I know I would stock up for sure.

    Interested to hear your thoughts!

  2. #2
    Dang. Amateur speakerdave's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,577

    Yes!

    +1.
    "Audio is filled with dangerous amateurs." --- Tim de Paravicini

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    203
    Well I ended up getting a C8R121A recone from Ebay a week ago. Couldn't see the mass ring in the pictures but I am hoping it is under the dustcap in the box.

    Luckily for the seller there was only 2 bids on it and if i didn't have a sniper on it, it would have sold for 99 cents. Ended up paying $150 US.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,619
    Quote Originally Posted by kelossus View Post
    Well I ended up getting a C8R121A recone from Ebay a week ago. Couldn't see the mass ring in the pictures but I am hoping it is under the dustcap in the box.

    Luckily for the seller there was only 2 bids on it and if i didn't have a sniper on it, it would have sold for 99 cents. Ended up paying $150 US.
    That one has bad foam on it too

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    203
    Quote Originally Posted by Wagner View Post
    That one has bad foam on it too
    Yeah I could see the slight tear and it was mentioned in the ad. Not a deal breaker at all though, wouldn't really expect a 20+ year old recone to have mint foam and I would replace regardless. The 112A recones and 2203 recones I have, have no foam but that didn't put me off.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 136 Recone question
    By mbottz in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2007, 03:14 PM
  2. Another JBl recone question.
    By scott fitlin in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-15-2006, 09:01 AM
  3. Question about a californian recone
    By Fangio in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-05-2006, 01:36 AM
  4. Recone question
    By LE15-Thumper in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-18-2005, 03:33 AM
  5. E-130 Recone Question
    By Ralf in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-01-2004, 08:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •