Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Your thoughts on custom speakers

Your thoughts on custom speakers

I'm a newbie and this is my first post, so be gentle. I've decided to build (for fun) a set of speakers. I'd appreciate your thoughts and opinions. I was in college in the 70s when JBl 88s reigned supreme, and always had JBL or Altec speakers in my guitar amps. I'm a retro kind of guy and have a soft spot for JBLs. I'll use a Phase Linear power and preamp with the speakers.

I have LE-5-2 mids and LE26 tweeters. I'm considering Infinity Kappa Perfect 12s for the subs. I've a couple design options. 1) Build a seperate sub enclosure with the two Kappa and then build two satellite enclosures for the mids and tweeters. 2) Build two enclosures to hold a sub, mid, and tweeter.

Then there is the choice of sealed or ported enclosures for the sub.

I'm looking for bone crushing bass and bright high freqs that will shatter the windows. I listen to Pink Floyd, Super Tramp, Doobie, Eagles, etc. and not at loud volumes.

Any thoughts??

Quote Originally Posted by HipoFutura
    I'm looking for bone crushing bass and bright high freqs that will shatter the windows ... not at loud volumes.
    Well, THAT ain't gonna happen.

Welcome aboard. You've come to the right place!

Thanks Zilch! I should add that I'd rather use JBLs for the subs, but I've found the Kappa to be a very impressive speaker. Any vintage JBLs that would be comperable with the kappa? The other consideration is enclosure size. I don't want these things to be the centerpiece in my livingroom. I'd rather they be somewhat out of sight.

Welcome!

Any vintage JBLs that would be comperable with the kappa?
    What's your budget?
    Oh, I'm sorry - You said 'comperable'- "No."