PDA

View Full Version : Tubes and Altec Carmel's - sahweeet

intotubes
01-24-2006, 05:44 PM
Greetings Altec Lansing fanatics.

First let me say I am glad I found this place. I’ve been browsing for a while and really like it here.

For my first post to this great forum I wanted to express the enjoyment I am currently having listening to a recently acquired pair of 60’s(?) vintage Carmels. One has a serial number of 581. Any idea what year these are?
*edit: OK, nevermind, I just read where s/n data is not known due to a fire at the factory(?). Bummer. I'm new to the Altec world so patience is in order. *end edit

I have an H.H.Scott LT-10 tuner feeding a Fisher KX-200 integrated and man, it is a sweet sound to my ears.

I am so jazzed. I picked these things up for a song. The cab’s are a little beat up but the innards are like new. My jaw dropped when I opened the cabinet and saw those shiny green 811’s. I have since done copious research and found that these speakers are a delight to all who own them. I briefly considered parting out but NO WAY. I gave them a listen and am now a firm Altec convert. At least a horn convert. I already had a pair of Cornwalls that I thought were the best thing I had ever heard. Now I own two pairs of classics.

I am considering building a pair of Malibu cabinets and transfer the components. They will match the CW’s better and stand up (taking up less floor space, WAF, etc).

Is it sacrilege? Is it acceptable here to do something like that to a classic? Should I keep ‘em stock for history’s sake? I could keep the empty cabinets I suppose and store them.

Anyway right now I am listening as is and am extremely pleased.

BTW, I have read about the goop in the woofer surrounds running. Is this a real concern? I haven’t pulled the drivers to check yet.

Thanks!

-Mark

Chas
01-25-2006, 06:57 AM