PDA

View Full Version : Forum Delays 12/13/05??



johnaec
12-13-2005, 10:52 AM
I can barely get in and navigate the site today - 'anyone else? All other sites are OK. It took over a minute just to open this "Post New Thread" page...

John

Alex Lancaster
12-13-2005, 10:59 AM
:) Itīs OK from here.

Hofmannhp
12-13-2005, 03:08 PM
I can barely get in and navigate the site today - 'anyone else? All other sites are OK. It took over a minute just to open this "Post New Thread" page...

John

Hi John,

got the same problem last week, but fixed it by trashing the "temporary Internet files" list

HP

scott fitlin
12-13-2005, 06:01 PM
Hi John,

got the same problem last week, but fixed it by trashing the "temporary Internet files" list

HPThat seemed to work, much quicker access now! :D

johnaec
12-13-2005, 06:07 PM
I'm home now, and everything's fine here. I'll try clearing out those files at the office tomorrow.

John

scott fitlin
12-14-2005, 08:39 AM
I dont know, I cleaned out my temp internet files, but I always do. I run Cleansweep fast and safe, and the heritage forum is still giving me problems, very slow, almost impossible to get into threads and sections today!

johnaec
12-14-2005, 09:04 AM
I'm still having the problem at my office computer - almost unusable - this site only. 'Guess I'll have to do a little digging...

John

Ian Mackenzie
12-14-2005, 12:24 PM
i clear both the cookies and temp files and it helped but it is slower to load new pages.

Ian

boputnam
12-14-2005, 06:32 PM
I've had no general issues. Only sluggish when a thread is laden with lots of, or over-sized pics. That takes some time (and keeps re-framing), but is specific only to those type threads.

Wardsweb
12-15-2005, 06:52 AM
The entire site is slow for me. It can take 10-20 seconds for a page to load regardless what's on it. Opening this posting page took over 20 seconds.

Has anyone run the MySQL database optimization from the admin console under site maintenance? Has anyone checked the error logs on the server to see what the program in trying to find or if the PHP has been hacked and someone is using the processing time to spam or other ?

johnaec
12-15-2005, 07:14 AM
It's still almost unusable at the office today, 12/15. I've even rebooted all the routers and flushed the DNS, but no difference. I guess I'll contact our ISP to see if they have any ideas.

My home connection, (20 miles away, different ISP), works fine.

John

boputnam
12-15-2005, 08:46 AM
This morning I too am getting symptoms. Slow - particularly if I click on the "latest post" arrow thingy on the Forums. At the click, there is a very prolonged delay before the page appears.

John Nebel
12-15-2005, 10:31 AM
Works fine for me.

boputnam
12-15-2005, 10:40 AM
+23 seconds wait time, after clicking on the little arrow to see your post (last one on this thread).

John Nebel
12-15-2005, 11:50 AM
2 seconds - so it is not the site.

boputnam
12-15-2005, 12:10 PM
Interesting. Just now, 0 seconds, but on "Reply", a 8s wait. Obviously intermittent. Logjam, somewhere... :dont-know

John Nebel
12-15-2005, 12:17 PM
Bo,

Traceroute is usually a good tool to test with. I'll reset BGP later :).

John

JuniorJBL
12-15-2005, 12:40 PM
I too find lag from my location but if I run a trace route when it is happening the results are good.
Here are the results:



Tracing route to apollo.csdco.com [198.80.11.57]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms isa2003.local.krwconsulting.com [192.168.100.1]
2 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 64.207.54.145
3 4 ms 4 ms 5 ms 172.20.40.73
4 4 ms 4 ms 4 ms 192.168.28.87
5 4 ms 4 ms 4 ms 12.124.158.145
6 29 ms 30 ms 33 ms gbr1-p60.dvmco.ip.att.net [12.123.36.138]
7 30 ms 41 ms 30 ms 12.122.12.133
8 28 ms 41 ms 27 ms 12.122.81.137
9 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms att-gw.ashburn.eli.net [192.205.32.74]
10 41 ms 34 ms 45 ms 0.so-2-0-0.xl1.scl2.alter.net [152.63.57.50]
11 61 ms 108 ms 61 ms 0.so-0-0-0.xl1.den4.alter.net [152.63.88.54]
12 61 ms 60 ms 60 ms 177.atm6-0.gw4.den4.alter.net [152.63.93.201]
13 63 ms 63 ms 63 ms csd-gw.customer.ALTER.NET [157.130.160.62]
14 63 ms 63 ms 71 ms apollo.csdco.com [198.80.11.57]
Trace complete.

johnaec
12-15-2005, 06:35 PM
I think I've narrowed the problem down to the wireless transceiver that connects our office to the Internet, (we're on a 2 Mbit symmetrical wireless connection that then goes to a transceiver a few blocks away, which is tied into a DS1 line). Tracert goes through our gateway router, then just totally dies at the wireless IP, for all addresses. What's odd is that most sites still come up just fine - it's mainly this one, (at least among the ones I visit), that just dies from the office. I'll be trying to resolve this with the ISP. Our other office uses the exact same setup, and tracert is just fine, as is performance at this site from there.

John

John Nebel
12-15-2005, 07:20 PM
I just reset BGP which will force every border router on the Internet to reconsider its path to audioheritage. Kinda a sledgehammer approach.

If there is a pause now, that would be the reason.