PDA

View Full Version : Not sure about rebuilding L110's...

cplyons
12-03-2005, 11:27 AM
First off, let me mention that I am a newbie with this stuff and a danger to myself and others when I get a soldering iron in my hands... Anyway, I bought sight unseen my first JBLs this week... A pair of L110s off Craig's List. The only way I could be the first in line for these was to PayPal the guy payment and hope things worked out. The deal seemed too good to pass up... A nicely working Marantz 2252B vintage receiver and a pair of L110s ("sound great! - in fine shape other than a little cabinet damage..."), all for $175.

The receiever is dirty but as advertised... looks and sounds good after some clean up and contact renewal. But the speakers are another matter.

All foam is gone from the LE111A's. One of the tweeters is pushed all the way in. And there is some real rot on the bottom of one of the cases.

SO, my local reconer/JBL center is quoting $60 per speaker if refoaming is all that's needed. If voice coil or cone is damaged, add an additional $160 per box. One of the members here was kind enough to point me to an eBay sale on a tweeter diaphragm, but that may end up around $50 or so.

On the brighter side, apart from the water damage mentioned above, the speakers sound OK. I've only played them at low volume to confirm the elements aren't burned out. The cases are presentable with some care and feeding. The grilles are actually all there and very nice looking. What I'm trying to decide is how much I really want to spend on a speaker I've never even heard.

I am going to try to use wood putty to shore up the wood damage, but is there an aftermarket refoam kit I should try instead of using the factory one installed by my local guy? Or should I just part these out (not at all my first or even second choice...)

What do you guys think?

thanks

Chris L
Austin, Texas

speakerdave
12-03-2005, 11:49 AM
1) If you part them out I would be interested in those woofer frames.