PDA

View Full Version : 085 kit-based system

vgdb
11-24-2005, 03:15 AM
Hi everyone, (Please excuse my poor english, I'm french).

I am very new to the world of High-End Hifi : I became by heritage a happy owner of a 085-based system. This system was bought to the Westrex Company by my uncle in 1961. It has not been working during 15 years and I am trying to give it a second life.

The first approach was something like magical : I brought everything to my home, connected the speakers, amplifiers etc... and everything worked instantly! Even with very approximative corrections applied on the relative levels of the different speakers, the sound surpassed my old AR-30. This is, I think, especially due to the 375 horns which give space and "touchable" volume to the sound. Also the 150-4C, mounted in Onken-like speakers, give very deep but precise basses.

For the second approach, fine tuning, I was helped by an experimented audiophile who measured and tuned my installation. The result outpasses now anything I heard before. Everything seemed to be in very good state and the resulting measured curve, corrected (very few corrections) with an Altec Acousta-Voicette, spreads very regularly from 30Hz to 20kHz!

I am now wondering what should I do to have this system resist to the damages of time, especially :

- The 150-4C have a sort of "vernish" on the exterior edge of the cone (the "accordeon part") . One of the speakers seems to have "lost" a part of this "vernish" (gone with dust, it seems). The person who came to adjust my system told me I should add a latex-based "dope" (??? maybe it's a french word!) which will allow this part of the speaker to keep its flexibility from now on. I feel confident with this person, but as a total ignorant in the speaker world, I wanted to collect other advices about this proposal before applying any treatments on what seems to be a very rare component...