PDA

View Full Version : your computer stuff



Hofmannhp
11-15-2005, 09:39 AM
Hi,

I thought as a part of this off topic section, we all can share information about our home computer equipment......what do you think? Maybe as a part of the music system?

HP

Mr. Widget
11-15-2005, 09:45 AM
Personally, I am not a computers and music type, but here is a thread that might add to your discussion.

http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=5106

Widget

Cyclotronguy
11-15-2005, 10:51 AM
Two computers racked up in the Hi-Fi system. One a hard drive music server the other an overclocked Pentium Pro 200 running MLSSA through an onboard chip amp (Phil Marchand). Portable running True RTA, WinISD, and etc / fed by Behringer mike through Shure Bros phantom / pre. Nothing cutting edge... just rock solid functional.


Cyclotronguy

Fred Sanford
11-15-2005, 07:10 PM
I do Beta testing for these folks:

www.request.com (http://www.request.com/)

...nice package for digital music management, especially in a full-house automated system kind of environment.

je

Robh3606
11-15-2005, 07:20 PM
I have an HT showroom near me that specializes in music server set-ups and music in every room all controlled by keypads on the walls. Neat stuff!! Most of the speakers are inwalls but you know for easy listenning I think it would be lots of fun to have a set-up like this built into a new home. Hell you could always have a dedicated media room with a "real" Stereo/HT set up.

Rob:)

pelly3s
11-15-2005, 07:21 PM
I run a 1.5GHz 12" Power Book with Protools and an Mbox, and I Windows XP box that has been through a war and still runs. It is a 1.3GHz AMD Duron, 200gig hard drive, a gig of Ram and a plethera of test software. nothing really running for an audio system but I am going to convert a Proliant case into an XP box with 2TB of storage. I am planning on making it a full media server. That will happen when I finish up 6000 other projects though

Robh3606
11-15-2005, 07:31 PM
"a gig of Ram and a plethera of test software"

Got Clio on there ??

Rob:)

morbo!
11-15-2005, 07:47 PM
i build my own computers and have too much junk to mention (i think the only pieces i have ever thrown out is a blown hdd and a few sticks of 16meg edo ram)(or was that fastpage?))
but amd xp3000 2.17g (they rule for audio use)(not much for video editing)
gigabye ga7-v mobo
200 gig of western digital 8 meg cache hdd (only ide)atm:crying:
768 meg of ram (needs more)
128 meg nvid graphix card
orig blaster audoligy
dvb-t card for (dig radio)and watchin tele on the pc sweet pic
i only use mp3 at 256Mbps
21" cornerstone monitor (huge mon good for games and reading forum`s)

fav software

cool edit
win amp
world wind
ares
mozilla
smaartlive
dvd decrypt and shrink
and (the all seeing eye) for my games
america`s army and bf 1942 and the mod dcf

security
kerio personal firewall
avg free edition
microsoft antispyware

and draws full of junk got 1800xp amd sitting on top of my collection atm!:hmm:

morbo!:D

pelly3s
11-15-2005, 08:09 PM
"a gig of Ram and a plethera of test software"

Got Clio on there ??

Rob:)

actually i dont. i mainly use Smaart. The rest is some odd ball stuff I unfortunately havent even turned that one on for about a year of so.

Jakeisuseless
11-15-2005, 09:01 PM
Well, my computer replaces a cd player for my office/computer room/smoking room/chill spot.

This is what I run:

P4P 800 E-delux motherboard
2.6 P4 Northwood processor
Revolution 7.1 soundcard (I highly recomend this sound card. True 192khz/24 bit, digital coaxle out, badass sound quality.)
Gig and a half of DDR400
36 gig Western Digital Raptor 10,000 RPM hardrive (This hardrive kicks ass, makes my computer run like a dream.)
80 gig 7200 rpm western digital harddrive deticated to music

I put this together for about $800.... Kills anything pre-built for the price.

morbo!
11-15-2005, 09:35 PM
i might use them specs when i build my next 1
i should be ashamed only running 7200rpm atm
you ever edit video on it?
w d`s the only hdd imho

p.s put a decent vid card in that thing and its a gaint killer $3000 in a shop

Hofmannhp
11-16-2005, 04:12 AM
Hi all,

at this time I use:

1 older 400MHz dual pentium II with SCSI drives. Mostly used for backup and office.
1 IBM-Z-Pro dual pentium 2 x 933MHz, 3 HD's SCSI 3, 10k, 36G, but 3Dlabs Wildcat 208Mb graphicadapter for video editing, 2 Gb Ram (Rambus), 21 Eizo Display. (also for ACAD 2004 and Photoshop)
1 IBM M-Pro dual Pentium 2 x 1000MHz, 1 HD 73G IDE, Diamond Fire 1000 GL, 1 Gb Ram (Rambus), 17" Siemens Display.(in use also for the forums access)
1 Dell 3 GHz Pentium, 512 Gb RAM, ATI Radeon 8500 graphikadapter, 2 x 18 Gb HD 10k, SCSI, Adaptec 24160 Controller.
1 Compaq Proliant 1800 Server with dual pentium 500, all SCSI, Controler Smart 4200, Disk Array with 8 x 18 Gb, 10k (a real energy destroyer)
3 Printers HP 1220c
1 Printer HP 990c
1 Plotter HP 750c

Garage for music:
1 old 200MHz pentium with 10Gb HD IDE for mp3 (mostly used by the doughter for hiphop and house)

hp

Don Mascali
11-16-2005, 11:26 AM
I built a state of the art AMD 64 rig and all I use it for is playing "FreeCell" and surfing Porn.:applaud:

morbo!
11-16-2005, 01:11 PM
I built a state of the art AMD 64 rig and all I use it for is playing "FreeCell" and surfing Porn.:applaud:


wanna edit about 100 episodes for mash for me?
my little system isnt designed for editing vid
I wanna go scsi too used to borrow a mates box for recording way better

just a games and music machine

Fred Sanford
11-16-2005, 03:44 PM
I have an HT showroom near me that specializes in music server set-ups and music in every room all controlled by keypads on the walls. Neat stuff!! Most of the speakers are inwalls but you know for easy listenning I think it would be lots of fun to have a set-up like this built into a new home. Hell you could always have a dedicated media room with a "real" Stereo/HT set up.

Rob:)

Rob, you in the NYC area? Most of our projects are in Manhattan and all have these types of setups. We pretty much turn down anything under a $75K job, and some have run upwards of $1 million. Fun toys.

je