PDA

View Full Version : JBL MR Series

kidkarmadj
11-15-2005, 08:18 AM
I have started buying used JBL Sound Reinforcement such as MR Series and even some old school Cabaret Series. I've been taking the Cabarets apart and totally restoring them inside and out. Fortunatly I have a Certified JBL Speaker Tech in my neighborhood to do the recones and I'm a painter by trade so after a coat of low lustre oil enamel the cabs are looking and sounding brand spanking new when I'm done with them. So far over the past 7 months I've purchased 2 pairs of MR 822 and 2 pairs of MR 825 as well as a pair of TR225 and a pair of Cabaret 4628b's. I can care less about the TR's but I'll keep them around anyway. I have purchased (3) Crown XLS 602 amps (370 watts @ 8ohms per side & 600 watts @ 4 ohms per side) but I don't really know how to run all of them. I guess my question is can I run 2 pairs of the MR 825 off one XLS 602 amp? The MR 825 and MR 822 require about 500-600 watts program. Or instead of running 2 pairs at 4 ohms should I just run 1 pair for each amp at 8 ohms and 370 watts per speaker? If I choose to run my speakers at 4 ohms, will that cause them harm in the long run? These are a few questions about my mains. I also have a few bass bins that I need to figure out as well. Maybe I'll post those questions tmrw. Thanks!

Zilch
11-15-2005, 11:01 AM
Do you have some purpose in running more than one pair simultaneously? Is this for some SR gig?

'Cause, if you're trying to make a "wall of sound" with them in the same room, it's a sonic mess you're creating, instead....

kidkarmadj
11-15-2005, 12:28 PM