PDA

View Full Version : Monitor design considerations ....

barkingdog
10-28-2005, 11:04 AM
Boy, I wish I had been registered here before I started buying stuff .... well here goes ....

I've been picking up components for some studio monitors I'd like to build. The plan is, for each cabinet :

LF - 2235H
MF - 2425J
HF - 2405

Bi-amp using Bryston active crossover (800 Hz) and two Bryston 4B's. Use a 3105 (bought or custom made) crossover between the 2425J's and 2405's. Probably an L-pad on the mids (?). 5 cubic foot 3/4" MDF (is Baltic Birch better? That's what I've been using for PA cabs) boxes with two 4" ports at 11" length.

My problem is that I jumped on a "Buy It Now" (yes, I'm Mr.Impulsive) for a pair of L91 lenses. From what I've read since, these were meant to be used with H91 horns which are meant for 1200 Hz. Being a relative newbie, I didn't realize that the horn/lens combos were for specific frequency ranges:banghead: . So, from what I've read since, what I should be using is an H92/L92 combination.

This may be a stupid question but will the L91's be ok with an H92 horn?

Does anyone see other design flaws here?

By the way, what application are 2301 horns meant for?

This is a great forum. Looking forward to meeting y'all.:bouncy:

Cheers,
James.

Uncle Paul
10-28-2005, 11:38 AM
"This may be a stupid question but will the L91's be ok with an H92 horn?"

L91 will work OK and was the lens used on the L300/4333, which it looks like you are modeling your speakers on. Look through the library for info. The L300 brochure has cross sections and dimensions if you want to replicate the cab.

3/4" MDF will work just fine.

I'd make the passive crossovers. You can use much better components than the originals, and it will be far cheaper than buying 3105's.

I had a similar system many years ago and it was awesome. Only difference (other than choice of electronics) was I ran Transylvania Tubes instead of the horns. I don't think you will be dissapointed.