PDA

View Full Version : l212

roundnyellow
09-12-2003, 08:44 AM
I recently picked up a set of l212’s at a yard sale, $30.00. Looks like they need new surrounds, sub woofer new cone, tweeters have small dings. I’m very new to the audio world so please have patience. Each speaker has a rheostat and what I guess is a filter bank, they look like they’ve shorted (burnt connections on stats.

I’ve little written about the 212’s. Are worth rebuilding? Are they something I can build a good system around? If I do have them refurbished what should I look out for and how much should I spend?

Thanks,
Gary

Speakertown
09-12-2003, 09:00 AM
That's a good buy at 10X what you paid! Yes, by all means
do those inexpensive repairs. Do no run the woofers until you
get them re-foamed. They may need new cone kits, depending
on the voice coil's condition. The dented tweeters should be
fine unless the coils are also tweaked and rubbing.

Those "reostats" (actally L-pads) are very inexpensive,
like $5. ea. (for genaric), so by all means replace them. Make sure to
get the same ohmage (4,8, or 16), and use 50-100 watt
units.

Those in good cond. are probably worth around $1K.;)

Oops, I should have offered you $100. for them..... rats!:p

boputnam
09-12-2003, 09:56 AM
Originally posted by roundnyellow
I’ve little written about the 212’s. If no one's posted this, here's a L212 - Link (http://www.lansingheritage.org/html/jbl/specs/home-speakers/1977-l212.htm) that will give some more reading material.

I do believe that a one Giskard has a set of these - if he hasn't responded already, he might be off enjoying them... ;)

roundnyellow
09-12-2003, 10:07 AM
Thanks for the info. should I look for a JBL certified repair shop? Do you know of one in the SoCal area.

Once again thanks,
Gary

boputnam
09-12-2003, 10:37 AM
a JBL certified repair shop ... in the SoCal area. Hey, Gary...