PDA

View Full Version : 2245 port sizes

dennis j leisz
09-12-2003, 08:08 AM
I'm starting a new winter speaker project. It gets cold here in Minnesota. I am designing an 8 cu. ft. enclosure for a 2245 . I can't get any of the design programs to correlate on port size lenght etc. I need some suggestions. I plan to cross over at 300 hz to a 10in. I would like to tune the cabinet to 28hz and use (3 )., four inch I.D ports. What do your programs tell you the length of each port to be. I use this info as a starting point and use a test tone with a scope to fine tune the lenght. Any other suggestions would be great. I looked at the Solen site for help on the Ultimate experience. I have never used the 2245 before , looks like fun.

4313B
09-12-2003, 08:14 AM
Well, the old JBL method of tuning comes up with 11.125" as the required duct length.

Bass Box 6 Pro comes up with 10.96" as the required duct length with "normal fill", 11.58" with minimal fill and 12.26" with "no fill".

And yes, the 2245H is fun :)

boputnam
09-12-2003, 10:01 AM
Hey...

Here's a 4345 monitor plans - Link (http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=314) the first page of which shows, and gives the port dimensions for the 4345 cabinet as 4-1/8" diam by 8-1/4" duct (x 3).

Fun, fun, fun... :nutz:

4313B
09-12-2003, 11:24 AM
Well, if you are going with stock stuff then you might also want to know that the B460 used three 4.125" ID ports each having a 14.875" duct.

I think you're right on though going for a 28 Hz target tuning frequency. The 4345 might be a bit too high (plus you don't have a big 5.4 mH inductor in your signal path do you?) and the B460 might be a bit too low unassisted.

Use the port length I suggested and prepare to cut some length off as you measure the actual tuning frequency :)

BTW - What lengths are your programs giving you?

Guido
09-12-2003, 02:06 PM
Originally posted by Giskard

BTW - What lengths are your programs giving you? [/B]